Entries archive - Oldish Psych and Prog
R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Login form
Entries archive
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Ace Bootlegs
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Culture fo All
  • Deserter's Songs
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • Digital Meltdown Music Blogroll
  • 18 Rodas
  • Faintly Blowing
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • It's psychedelic baby, that's what it's all about
  • Jazz-Privado
  • the List
  • Luiz Woodstock
  • Mara Bunta
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Old Melodies ...
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Russian Rock
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • Som imaginário
  • Standin' At the Croosroads
  • When You Motor Away
  • Wings Of Dream
  • Create your own site

  • PNF Blgwtch Totally Fuzzy

    Main » Entries archive

    Mellow Candle ~ 1997 ~ Virgin Prophetgenre: england folk
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, covers, size: 218 mb)
    time: 49'21"

    01. Heaven Heath 2:38
    02. Waterman Weatherman 4:02
    03. Sheep Season 3:38
    04. Buy Or Beware 2:52
    05. Break Your Token 2:32
    06. Lonely Man 3:34
    07. Lords Of The Green Grass 2:00
    08. Dan The Wing 2:35
    09. Silversong 4:11
    10. The Poet And The Witch 2:23
    11. Boulders On My Grave 2:46
    12. Reverend Sisters 3:44
    13. Crabtree 3:45
    14. Pretty Polly 5:28
    15. The Virgin Prophet 3:14

    CLODAGH SIMONDS vcls, keyb'ds
    DAVID WILLIAMS gtr, vcls

    ... Read more »
    Views: 41 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 08.11.2014 | Comments (0)

    Medicine Head ~ 1971 ~ Heavy on the Drumgenre: sunsine glam r'n'b
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 338 mb), mp3 (320k, covers, 93 mb)
    time: 42'34"


    01. There's Always A Light 4:50
    02. Any Day Now 1:43
    03. Medicine Pony 3:11
    04. Thou Shall Not Pass 3:03
    05. Expectation Blues 3:06
    06. To Train Time 6:20
    07. Call On Your Saviour (And Sing With The Drum) 3:45
    08. Have No Fear 2:51
    09. You Got Me Rockin' And Rollin' 2:17
    10. Once There Was A Day 6:22
    11. (Sometimes) Even The Moon Has No Face 3:10

    JOHN FIDDLER gtr, vcls
    PETER HOPE-EVANS hrmnca, jews harp

    ... Read more »
    Views: 73 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 07.11.2014 | Comments (2)

    McKenna Mendelson Mainline ~ 1969 ~ Stinkgenre: r'n'b
    state: canada
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 264 mb)
    time: 42'34"

    Dreams Fantasies & Nighmares:
    This progressive blues outfit operated out of Toronto, Ontario, between 1968-70. They were formed when Mike McKenna placed an advert in a local paper announcing that he wanted to start a blues band. Guitar and banjo player Joe Mendelson answered the ad and became the band's creative member writing all their original material. Nolasco and Harrison were recruited on drums and bass respectively to complement Mendelson's vocals and McKenna's driving guitar. The original bassist was Denny Gerrard, formerly of The Paupers, but he left after just three months.
    McKenna had previously played with Luke and The Apostles (1963) and The Ugly Ducklings (1967-68).
    Having established themselves in Toronto, Ontario, the band switched bases to England in 1968, where they aroused quite a lot of interest. Whilst there, they toured several European countries and at the Utrecht Pop Festival in Holland were the only band to receive a standing ovation.
    They recorded their album Stink during their stay in England and upon their return to Canada in 1969 enjoyed a Top 50 hit with Better Watch Out, which was culled from the album. The inclusion of another cut, T.B. Blues, on the budget-priced Son Of Gutbucket sampler over in England, introduced their blues-rock to a much wider audience.
    In mid-1971 they shortened their name to Mainline and further details of their career appear in that entry.

    ... Read more »
    Views: 73 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 07.11.2014 | Comments (0)

    Mcdonald & Sherby ~ 1974 ~ Catharsisgenre: acid, psych
    state: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 282 mb)
    time: 37'12"

    Some have speculated that given the band's prog/psych leanings, Catharsis was probably recorded in the '70s, although the accepted wisdom is that the album was made at Minneapolis's Sound 80 Studios on 1969. The album consists of six long tracks with a decidedly heavy guitar-based vibe, all well- recorded and delivered with considerable aplomb. A guitar-based progressive album recorded at Sound 80 in Minneapolis. Though undated, the record sounds of a mid-seventies vintage, not dissimilar to fellow Great Lakes prog rockers Kopperfield.

    ... Read more »
    Views: 58 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 07.11.2014 | Comments (0)

    McCully Workshop Inc ~ 1969 ~ McCully Workshop Incgenre: psych
    state: south africa
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 252 mb)
    time: 37'12"

    McCully Workshop Inc. is the eponymous debut album of South African psychedelic rock band McCully Workshop. The album was produced by Billy Forrest on the Trutone Records label who had joined Trutone as record producer in 1968. Trutone had recently been acquired, in 1967, by Gallo (Africa) Limited. Gallo went on to become one of the internationally recognized giants in the music world. The album draws on a number of musical styles and is influenced by the likes of; The Beatles in particular 'Sgt Pepper', Frank Zappa, Pink Floyd, and the Moody Blues 'Threshold Of A Dream'

    ... Read more »
    Views: 47 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 07.11.2014 | Comments (2)

    Maxwells ~ 1969 ~ Maxwell Streetgenre: psych, jazz fusion
    state: denmark
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 423 mb)
    time: 39'36"

    Maxwells was an odd choice for the imprint, indicating an exploration into different markets at the time. Really fine exploratory effort from Maxwells, a band that continued to progress musically via the Rainbow Band moniker and even further as Midnight Sun. The music here is definitely inspired by the cutting edge horn rock movement as portrayed by the Chicago Transit Authority, but with an avant garde edge in places, perhaps recalling Friend Sound on their "Joyride" album. Splendid little album that demonstrates once again that Denmark was about a full year ahead of their Continental European contemporaries when it came to innovations in rock music.

    ... Read more »
    Views: 64 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 07.11.2014 | Comments (0)

    Ian Matthews ~ 1971 ~ If You saw Thro' My Eyesgenre: folk, country
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, hqscs, size: 527 mb), mp3 (320k, hqscs, 417 mb)
    time: 39'36"

    If You Saw Thro' My Eyes is the 1971 album by country rock/folk rock musician Ian Matthews. Guest musicians were former Fairport Convention bandmates Sandy Denny supplying vocals & keyboards, and Richard Thompson on accordion & guitar.

    01. Desert Inn 3:33
    02. Hearts 3:12
    03. Never Ending 2:57
    04. Reno Nevada (Richard Fariña) 4:47
    05. Little Known 2:56
    06. Hinge 1:26
    07. Hinge (reprise) 0:29
    08. Southern Wind 3:13
    09. It Came Without Warning (Jerry Burnham, Allan Jacobs) 4:05
    10. You Couldn't Lose 3:38
    11. Morgan The Pirate (Fariña) 6:44
    12. Thro' My Eyes 2:36

    All tracks composed by Ian Matthews except where noted

    Ian Matthews - guitar, vocals
    Sandy Denny - keyboards, vocals
    Richard Thompson - guitar, accordion
    Pat Donaldson - bass
    Andy Roberts - guitar
    Tim Renwick - guitar
    Gerry Conway - drums

    ... Read more »
    Views: 47 | Added by: olegelagin | Date: 07.11.2014 | Comments (0)

    « 1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 570 571 »

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads