R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 8 » Alice ~ 1970 ~ Alice
    Alice ~ 1970 ~ Alice
    genre: psych
    country: france
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:01'43"  size: 364 mb

    Scented Gardens Of The Mind:

    Named after the Alice travelling to Wonderland in Lewis Caroll's immortal novel, this group had an uncommon sound for a French band, more similar in style to contemporary British rock. One of the reasons for this was the blues-rock background of several members. The first line-up (early 1970) included Auffredo, Suzan, Duplant and two ex-members of Alan Jack Civilization: Claude Olmos (guitar) and Jean Falissard (drums). This configuration only recorded Alice's first single "De L'Autre Côté Du Miroir" (the other side of the mirror)/ "Viens".

    Their first album was recorded at the Marquee Studio in London in October 1970. The important contributions from Auffredo (mainly on flute but also sax and violin), Suzan (mainly on organ) and Besse (playing great guitar) led to obvious comparisons with Jethro Tull, Traffic and Family. Alice's greatest strength was their talent for songwriting, composing songs with an instant appeal. Their music was lively and rural with some hippie vibes, maybe closest to Traffic's second album. On some tracks Alice used warbling Leslie effects on the vocals. Along with the first Magma album, this was one of the best French albums of 1970. In spite of this, it didn't influence the future direction of French progressive rock, as is usually regarded as being linked with the classic songwriting tradition of the late sixties. Arrêtez Le Monde (1972) was a far more "progressive" effort. The English lyrics version of the album is very rare. Alice belonged to the first generation of French rock groups along with Martin Circus, Alan Jack Civilization and Systeme Crapoutchik.

    01. Axis 5:30
    02. Onurb 1:21
    03. Le Nouveau Monde 2:31
    04. L'arbre 3:39
    05. Valse 2:33
    06. L'enfant 4:06
    07. Extrait Du 'Cercle' a) Final b) Theme 7:03
    08. Venez Jouer I 5:36
    09. Mexican Song 2:41
    10. Venez Jouer II 1:13
    11. Tournez La Page... 3:01
    12. Fumee Grise Et Marrons Chauds 1:14
    13. De L'Autre Cote Du Miroir 3:00
    14. Viens 3:10
    15. Le Nouveau Monde (version single) 2:47
    16. Que Pouvons - Nous Faire Ensemble 4:48
    17. Je Voudrais Habiter Le Soleil 4:18
    18. Il Viendra 3:13

    Jean-Pierre Auffredo - hautbois, flûtes traversières et douce, saxophones alto et soprano, violon, guitares, piano, percussions, chant
    Bruno Besse - guitares, percussions, vibraphone
    Sylvain Duplant - basse, guitares, percussions, chant
    Alain Suzan - orgue, piano, basse, percussions, chant
    Alain Weiss ("Doudou”) - batterie, percussions, cloches tubulaires, chant

    depositfiles: p1, p2 = sharingmatrix:  p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2496 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads