R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 30 » Arktis - 1975 - Arktis Tapes
    Arktis - 1975 - Arktis Tapes
    genre: heavy psych
    country: germany
    quality : lossless (flac separate, cue, log, booklet scans)
    size: 499 mb
    1994 GoD

    Cosmic Dreams:
    This band from the surroundings of Bonn was formed in March 1973. During the Summer of 1973 the band rehearsed a set of original compositions. In order to get publicity and, hopefully, a recording contract the band decided to produce a self-financed record. Thus Arktis was recorded in two days at Tonstudio am Dom, Cologne, October 1973. Only 300 copies were pressed and released in March 1974, most of them given away free to concert booking agencies, record companies, publishers, radio stations and the music press. The four tracks on it have a rudimentary garage rock sound featuring tons of multi-backed wah-wah and fuzz guitars much like Baumstamm, Grave, Florian Geyer or Da Capo. Klaus Blachut wrote nearly all their material and executed all the neckbreaking guitar pyrotechnics. Particularly good (apart from a short boogie part resembling Status Quo) was the 20 minute track "Rare Girl" with its never ending guitar digressions. Such a guitar-based album could easily be judged as 'simpler' than the majority of progressive rock albums, but the band is charmingly enthusiastic and Karin Toppig's tough vocals matched the powerful music.
    Unfortunately, the band was ignored by the major labels. In December 1974 three demos was recorded by Konrad Plank in his studio for a possible second album on a proper record label. Still their attempts were in vain. As a last resort, Arktis released Arktis Tapes in May 1975 in a pressing of 500 copies, again as a promotional tool. The album consisted of tracks recorded in a rehearsal room during 1974 and 1975. Once again Arktis failed to gain attention and the band split. Klaus Blachut later recorded his solo album 1982. Just 200 copies were released. The two Arktis albums have rocketed in price on the collectors' marked during the eighties. Both are recommended for collectors of private pressings and obscurities. Their third album was recently re-discovered and featured one great long track in addition to shorter tracks in a more mainstream direction.

    01 - New Rock 5:58
    04 - High Fly 5:59
    02 - Boogie 3:03
    07 - Dan 1 3:24
    08 - Deep In 7:41
    09 - Rock 'N' Roll 3:32

    10 - Evolution (Bonus Track) 16:19
    11 - Speeding Up (Bonus Track) 13:18
    05 - Walkin' With My Baby 2:59
    06 - Pique-Nique 6:08
    03 - Small Talk 4:46

    - Karin Töppig / voice
    - Klaus Blachut / guitar
    - Klaus Göllner / bass
    - Harry Kottek / drums

    sharingmatrix: p1, p2 = depositfiles: p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3066 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads