R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 26 » Atlantis - 1975 - Live at Fabrik 1973-1975
    Atlantis - 1975 - Live at Fabrik 1973-1975

    style: soul
    country: germany
    audio: mp3 (192vbr)
    size: 122mb

    Cosmic Dreams:
    When Frumpy disbanded in 1972, three of the members formed the 'super group' Atlantis, named after Plato's mythical continent that sank into the water. Vocalist Inga Rumpf was arguably the German answer to Janis Joplin with her distinct, gutsy blues voice. Along with Rumpf from Frumpy came Jean-Jaques Kravetz and Karl-Heinz Schott. The two additional members of Atlantis had recently left Emergency Frank Diez and Curt Cress. The band soon secured a contract with the German branch of Vertigo. Their first album was recorded in London and had a laid-back US West Coast feel to the music. The keyboards were quite dominant, and Rumpf of course sang the some blues and soul influenced tracks in her characteristic way. Along with Diez, she composed all of the songs. Cress and Diez quit the group again at the same time as the album was released. Dieter Bornschlegel became the new guitarist and Ringo Funk from Jeronimo took up the drums. It's Getting Better (1973) was similar to the first album but had an Afro-percussion player guesting on three tracks to make a more funky sound. There were further changes in the line-up when Jean-Jaques Kravetz quit to record a solo album (and then join Randy Pie). Bornschlegel also soon left Atlantis. Their replacements in time for the third album Ooh, Baby (1974) were Adrian Askew and Alex Conti, the latter had previously played guitar in Curly Curve. These two new members wrote most of the new material, which veered still closer towards funky soul rock. Tile double live album released in 1975 contained different live recordings from 1973-1975. In the Summer of 1975 the group was again transformed. Diez was brought back along with a second guitarist, Rainer Marz (ex-Jeronimo), for Get On Board (1975). This had a rockier sound, but was a less inspired work than the previous albums. One further LP was recorded, but not released until 1978. Atlantis finally disbanded in 1976. The group had, particularly during their first two years of existence, considerable commercial success in Germany. Inga Rumpf has since recorded several solo albums.

    01 - Friends 8:57
    02 - Ooh Baby 4:09
    03 - Somewhere 6:14
    04 - It's Getting Better 7:14
    05 - Waiting and Longing 3:47
    06 - Brother 5:42
    07 - Rock'N'Roll Preacher 4:24
    08 - New York City 4:07
    09 - Mr. Bigshot (You Get the Credit) 6:12
    10 - Mainline Florida 6:43
    11 - Godfather 3:56
    12 - Going to the Country 5:54
    13 - Rock Me Baby 4:54
    14 - Leave It to the Devil 4:19

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3137 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads