R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » October » 9 » Big Boy Pete ~ 1998 ~ Return To Catatonia
    Big Boy Pete ~ 1998 ~ Return To Catatonia
    Big Boy Pete ~ 1998 ~ Return To Catatoniagenre: psych
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers,  size: 205 mb)
    time: 41'08" misc.: '66-'68 recordings

    Tapestry of Delights:
    Big Boy Pete was former Peter Jay and The Jaywalkers member Pete Miller who also cut Baby I Got News For You as Miller, recording under a pseudonym. He first played in a rock n roll combo called The Offbeats, who recorded a six song EP Introducing The Offbeats in 1958, before joining Peter Jay and The Jaywalkers in 1961. His work with the Jaywalkers included a number of singles, produced by Joe Meek, from whom Pete would learn many recording techniques. In October '65, he quit the band to concentrate on recording demos, alongside session work. During this period, over 100 of his songs were accepted by Major Publishing houses in London.
    Returning back to his native Norwich, Pete continued to record demo's - influenced by the contemporay sounds, of Sgt. Pepper, Satanic Majesties and Axis Bold As Love, and although rejected for being too far-out for the mainstream publishing houses, many of these tracks have now been compiled on the Homage To Catatonia and Return To Catatonia retrospectives.
    However Big Boy Pete is best remembered for Cold Turkey which is an interesting and unusual psychedelic record well worth getting to hear. When the single started to create a buzz, Pete, tired of touring from his days with The Jaybirds, refused to go out giging to support the single so a 'bogus' Big Boy Pete was enlisted to do the dirty work.
    Big Boy Pete later relocated to the 'States, where he runs his own Recording Studio, and record label.

    01. 'Twas Not So Short Ago 3:36
    02. Me 2:20
    03. Summerland 2:53
    04. Nasty Nazi 3:24
    05. The Raid 2:12
    06. Creosote And Cream 3:15
    07. Crystal's Tune 2:58
    08. Strontium Ninety Nel 2:41
    09. Convercircles 2:13
    10. The Day Strares Straight Back 3:46
    11. Henry Nut (part two) 2:41
    12. Hung Up 2:39
    13. Sums 3:24
    14. The Shelter 3:05

    All tracks written and produced by Peter Miller 

    Drums: Robert Newton, LukeWatson 
    Bass: George Parsons, Harvey Platt, Pete Miller 
    Guitars, sitar, harmonica: Pete Miller 
    Organ: Peter London 
    Piano: Paul Gunnell    Sax: Johny Byles 
    Violin: Alan McClennan 
    Percussion: Robert Newton, Granville Hornsby 
    Trumpets: Norman Samways 
    Vocal backing: Ricky Southern, Luke Watson, Roger Moon

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 973 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads