R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » October » 29 » Don McLean ~ 1971 ~ American Pie
    Don McLean ~ 1971 ~ American Pie
    Don McLean ~ 1971 ~ American Piegenre: folk
    state: us
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, covers, size: 252 mb)
    time: 45'20"

    American Pie is McLean’s second album; his first, Tapestry, having been released to only moderate commercial success and acclaim in 1970. McLean was a protégé of Pete Seeger, having played with him in the 1960s. The album American Pie was intended as a unified work, as McLean has said that he was influenced by The Beatles' Sgt Pepper album and envisioned American Pie to be a similar album. Believing that an artist's work should stand by itself, McLean generally did not offer explanations for his work's themes or meaning, though he did describe the title song as involving "a sense of loss". The album was dedicated to Buddy Holly, a childhood icon of McLean's, and was released in 1971 on the heels of the '60s, the defining decade of McLean’s generation. It has a melancholy feel and rather sparse arrangements. At the time of the writing McLean’s first marriage was failing and the optimism and hopefulness of the 1960s was giving way to the nihilism and hedonism of the 1970s

    01. American Pie 8:33
    02. Till Tomorrow 2:15
    03. Vincent 4:00
    04. Crossroads 3:39
    05. Winterwood 3:11
    06. Empty Chairs 3:26
    07. Everybody Loves Me, Baby 3:35
    08. Sister Fatima 2:34
    09. The Grave 3:12
    10. Babylon 1:43

    11. Mother Nature 5:11
    12. Aftermath 4:03

    Don McLean – vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo
    Warren Bernhardt – piano ("Crossroads")
    Ray Colcord – electric piano
    Tom Flye – drums ("The Grave"), engineering
    Ed Freeman – string arrangements
    Paul Griffin – piano ("American Pie")
    Lee Hays – arranger
    Mike Mainieri – marimba, vibraphone
    Roy Markowitz – drums, percussion
    Gene Orloff – concert master
    Bob Rothstein – bass, vocals
    David Spinozza – electric guitar ("American Pie")
    West Forty Fourth Street Rhythm and Noise Choir – chorus

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 971 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads