R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 30 » Egg - 1971 - The Polite Force
    Egg - 1971 - The Polite Force
    genre: prog
    country: uk
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    size: 242 mb

    the Tapestry of Delights:
    This trio had previously been in a flower power outfit with Steve Hillage called Uriel, which ended in 1968 when Hillage went off to college. Egg's first incarnation lasted from July 1968 to May 1972 and the two albums they recorded were in the progressive mould and are now of minor interest to collectors. They were characterised by rather jazzy, esoteric music, which took extremely difficult time sequences as its basis. They also contributed two tracks, Song Of McGillicude The Pussillanimous and I Will Be Absorbed to The Nova Sampler in 1970. Dave Stewart's next outfit was Khan with Steve Hillage formed when he returned to London from college. He was later in Hatfield and The North, National Health and Bruford before 'going commercial' with a series of covers with Barbara Gaskin (ex-Spirogyra and Hatfield and The North). Clive Brooks went on to join Groundhogs and Mont Campbell was later in National Health. Egg did reform briefly in 1974 to cut the third album.


    01 - A Visit to Newport Hospital 8:24
    02 - Contrasong 4:23
    03 - Boilk (Incl. Bach: 'Durch Adams Fall Ist Ganz Verderbt') 9:21
    04 - Long Piece No. 3: Part 1 5:08
    05 - Long Piece No. 3: Part 2 7:38
    06 - Long Piece No. 3: Part 3 5:03
    07 - Long Piece No. 3: Part 4 2:51

    Clive Brooks (drums)
    Dave Stewart (keyboards)
    Mont Campbell (bass, vocals)

    From ProgressiveRock :
    Step back a few years to the unbearably named Uriel, from which Egg was (really sorry) hatched. Uriel was founded in 1968 by bassist Mont Campbell, guitarist Steve Hillage and Dave Stewart - who we are to believe only took up the organ because of his intimidation by Hillage’s superior playing! They eventually recruited Clive Brooks on drums through a Melody Maker advert. Uriel played bluesy psychedelia – self-described as part Cream and part Nice. The band gigged sporadically around London and recorded one posthumous album, the more pleasant Arzachel. After Hillage’s departure for University, the band dropped all blues numbers from their set and moved forward with compositions built around classical motifs and bizarre time signatures. At this point, the management of Middle Earth club approached them, successfully urging them to change their name to Egg. However, they were signed by Deram and released their first album in spring of 1970. Not without the influence of Arthur Brown/Vincent Crane, it was a solid debut. Encompassing the record’s second side, the instrumental "Symphony No. 2" was substantial. (Of course, it also begged the question, where was No. 1?) Egg’s sophomore album however, remains the classic. It begins with Mont Campbell reciting the band’s autobiographical "Visit to Newport Hospital". Again the second side is dominated by an instrumental, this time the veritable "Long Piece No.3". The second section’s leitmotif is simply transcendent. Stewart provided the classic Hammond/Leslie tone, while drummer Brooks kept meticulous time. Prone digressions into wonderful moments of psychedelic weirdness, it was a truly complicated and original piece that for the most part avoided pomposity (perhaps its greatest triumph). The record has much in common with Stewart’s later Canterbury (sic) efforts. The band broke up in 1972, with Stewart and a returning Hillage both turning their attention to the band Khan. Egg would however record a final reunion album, The Civil Surface, for Virgin in 1974, simply because they were offered.

    Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3367 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads