R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » August » 18 » Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera ~ 1968 ~ Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera
    Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera ~ 1968 ~ Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera
    Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera ~ 1968 ~ Elmer Gantry's Velvet Operagenre: psych
    country: uk
    audio: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans, size: 371 mb)
    time: 57'34"

    Tapestry of Delights:
    This Coventry band are best remembered for hard rock single, Flames, a cut from their first album which narrowly missed the charts in 1967. Featuring Richard Hudson and John Ford of The Strawbs and Hudson-Ford fame the album was full of variety spanning Motown, pop-psych and harder rock genres. Other tracks which catch the ear include the laid back Oscar Brown song I Was Cool, the instrumental Walter Sly Meets Bill Bailey, the Eastern-influenced sitar-based Air, the Beatlesque What's The Point Of Leaving, the melodic Long Nights Of Summer and two tracks - Dream Starts and Reactions Of A Young Man - which veered towards psychedelia.
    For the later single, Volcano, they shortened their name to Velvet Opera and also recorded a second album under that name. Although a popular underground band, commercial success eluded them. Ford and Hudson joined The Strawbs when The Velvet Opera disintegrated. In the seventies Elmer Gantry was in Stretch.

    01. Intro 1:00
    02. Mother Writes 2:06
    03. Mary Jane 2:25
    04. I Was Cool 2:59
    05. Walter Sly Meets Bill Bailey 3:10
    06. Air 3:12
    07. Lookin' For A Happy Life 3:02
    08. Flames 3:11
    09. What's The Point Of Leaving 2:11
    10. Long Nights Of Summer 2:35
    11. Dream Starts 3:02
    12. Reactions Of A Young Man 2:37
    13. Now She's Gone 2:33

    14. Flames - Single Version 3:15
    15. Salisbury Plain 2:37
    16. Mary Jane - Single Version 2:34
    17. Dreamy 2:32
    18. To Be With You 3:25
    19. And I Remember 2:46
    20. Talk Of The Devil 3:03
    21. The Painter 3:00

    Colin Forster - guitar 
    Richard Hudson - drums 
    Elmer Gantry - guitar, vocals 
    John Ford - bass

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1018 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads