R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 30 » Eloy - 1977 - Ocean
    Eloy - 1977 - Ocean
    genre: neo prog
    country: germany
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 44'11"
    size: 233 mb

    Cosmic Dreams:
    One of the best known German bands internationally was (and still is) Eloy, playing a self developed, pompous form of space rock. However, Eloy played strongly Anglo-influenced heavy progressive rock at the beginning of their career. Frank Bornemann (guitar, vocals) formed the band in February 1969, taking the name from the futuristic people appearing in the H. G. Wells' story "The Time Machine". In 1970 Eloy won a talent contest in their hometown Hannover. As a result, the band got their first opportunity to record in a studio, resulting in the privately-issued single "Walk Alone" coupled with "Daybreak". They also did countless live appearances, among them opening for Deep Purple and Uriah Heep during their respective German tours.
    A recording contract with Phillips was secured and the band set off to Star Studios, Hamburg, to record their first album in April 1971. Also present was Konrad Plank, as well as the mysterious producer Mr. Peter M. Freiherr von Lopel. Erich Schriever had the idea for the novelty fold-out dustbin sleeve. Apparently this is exactly where Bornemann has wanted to put the album ever since. It was one of the few Eloy albums he didn't have full control over. Schriever and Wieczorke dominated the writing. Musically this was heavy progressive rock for sure, but it lacked a distinctive sound and haunting melodies. After a period of much arguing Bornemann took full control over the band, and fired Draht and Schriever. Phillips, in turn, dropped Eloy. Fritz Randow became their new drummer, Bornemann became lead vocalist and Wieczorke switched from guitar to organ. This line-up re-launched Eloy live May in 1972 at Germesheim. For their new recording company (EMI Electrola Harvest) they recorded Inside during the next Winter and released it in February 1973. Surprisingly enough, this sounded like a combination of Pink Floyd at the time of Meddle and Ian Anderson with a German accent. "Land Of No Body" was a great 17 minute opus of space rock. "Inside" and "Up And Down" were also good, but the outstanding track was "Future City", a catchy tune with great guitar riffing and a strong rhythm backing. This was Floy's most "progressive" album, and also one of their best.


    Late in Autumn 1973, Luitjen Janssen replaced Stocker on bass. Bornemann now wanted to make a heavy rock album. Floating (1974) was indeed more powerful, comprising five tracks the arrangements of which were far too complex to be dubbed "heavy metal". This heavy kind of space rock was most successful on the track "Light From Deep Darkness". Their American manager Jay Partridge organised a three month USA tour in the Spring of 1975. For the rest of the year, Bornemann mostly worked on his forthcoming full blown concept album Power And The Passion, which finally appeared in November. He now assumed to take the role of H. G. Wells himself, and wrote an ambitious sci-fi concept about a teenager being able to travel back in time to 1358. The album featured both spoken dialogues and massive sound effects just like a radio play. The music itself was pompous, polished and 'produced' down to the smallest detail. Due to the failure of this album and the lack of success of the USA tour, Eloy disintegrated at the beginning of 1976. Wieczorke went to another pompous Hannover rock band: Jane. Randow joined the re-vitalised Epitaph.

    side A:
    Poseidon's Creation - 11:38
    Incarnation of the Logos - 8:25
    side B:
    Decay of the Logos - 8:15
    Atlantis' Agony at June 5th 8498, 13 P.M. Gregorian Earthtime - 15:35

    Frank Bornemann: Lead Vocals, All Electric, Acoustic, and Effect Guitars
    Klaus-Peter Matziol: Vocals, Thunderbird and Fender Fretless Bass Guitars
    Detlev Schmidtchen: Hammond Organ, Mini-Moog and ARP Synthesizers, Mellotron, RMI Keyboard Computer, Xylophone, Angelic Voices
    Jurgen Rosenthal: Sonor Genuine Rosewood Drums, Paiste Cymbals, Timbales, Roto-Toms, Temple Blocks, Kettle-Drums, Tubular Bells, Morse Key, Voice, Triangles, Paper and Flute

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2524 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads