R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 20 » Faces ~ 1971 ~ Long Player
    Faces ~ 1971 ~ Long Player
    genre: rhythm'n'blues
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 45'18"  size: 259 mb

    the Tapestry of Delights:

    The Faces formed in June 1969 when three former Small Faces (Lane, McLagan and Jones) joined forces with former Jeff Beck Group members Rod Stewart and Ron Wood. From their inception Stewart also pursued a solo career signing a separate recording contract with Mercury. Indeed, aside from their highly-touted live performances, Stewart's fame when Maggie May became a massive hit in 1971, was a major factor in their success.

    The musical offering was a brand of boozy, easy-going rock that sounded better live than on vinyl. They made their debut at Cambridge University in 1969 as part of Quiet Melon with Kim Gardner and Art Wood and were promoted as The Small Faces for their debut album in the US. Their first three albums were frankly patchy but sold quite well and their recorded work was mostly overshadowed by Stewart's solo exploits. The group often backed him and found itself being billed as Rod Stewart and The Faces, which caused a degree of bitterness. The First Step album had a raunchy R&B flavour but was short on strong material. The strongest song was Ronnie Lane's Stone. A Nod's As Good As A Wink was their best and most successful album, peaking at No 2 in the UK and No 6 in the US. In particular it featured a ball crunching rework of Chuck Berry's Memphis Tennessee, which was probably their finest moment. Their best remembered 45, though, has to be Stay With Me, which captured Stewart's vocals at their best and climbed to No 6 in the UK and No 17 in the US. This was the band in their heyday.

    By contrast Ooh La La was a poor album and Stewart, whose commitment to the whole project was becoming increasingly questionable, even made his dislike of the album public. This didn't stop it selling, though: it topped the UK Album Charts and climbed to No 21 in the US. Shortly after its release Ronnie Lane parted company with the band going on to form Ronnie Lane and Slim Chance and his replacement was a Japanese bassist Tetsu Yamauchi (ex-Free).

    This new line-up went on to achieve more Chart success in the UK, initially with the double 'A' side 45, Pool Hall Richard/I Wish It Would Rain, which peaked at No 8 in the UK in January 1974, and later in December of that year with You Can Make Me Dance Sing Or Anything, which made it to No 12. Between time they put out a live album, Coast To Coast Overture And Beginners, which sold well in the UK rising to No 3 but less well in the US where it could only manage No 63.

    When Stewart was forced to leave Britain for tax reasons in April 1975 this inevitably threatened the group's future. A couple of months later Ron Wood guested for The Rolling Stones on a US tour and when Stewart announced he was quitting the band in December 1975, Wood joined The Rolling Stones on a permanent basis. Jones and McLagan made an abortive attempt to relaunch The Small Faces the following year and Yamauchi headed back to Japan. In 1979 Kenny Jones became The Who's drummer. The inevitable 'Best Of' albums followed the band's disintegration but they rarely ever captured the excitement and raucousness of their live act on vinyl. They can also be heard playing Around The Plynth on Warner Brothers' Going Home compilation and Maybe I'm Amazed on the same label's Fruity compilation. More recently Reading Festival 1973 has captured their version of Losing You from the festival of the same name.

    01 - Bad 'N' Ruin 5:28
    02 - Tell Everyone 4:22
    03 - Sweet Lady Mary 5:51
    04 - Richmond 3:05
    05 - Maybe I'm Amazed 5:34
    06 - Had Me A Real Good Time 5:54
    07 - On The Beach 4:18
    08 - I Feel So Good 8:54
    09 - Jerusalem 1:53

    Kenney Jones- drums
    Ronnie Lane- bass, guitar, vocals
    Ian McLagan- piano, organ
    Ron Wood- lead, slide, and pedal steel guitar
    Rod Stewart- vocals
    Bobby Keys- sax
    Harry Beckett- trumpet

    depositfiles: p1, p2, p3 = sharingmatrix:  p1, p2, p3 = hotfile:  p1, p2, p3
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2681 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads