R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 25 » the Mothers of Invention - 1968 - We'Re Only In It For The Money
    the Mothers of Invention - 1968 - We'Re Only In It For The Money
    the Mothers of Invention - 1968 - We'Re Only In It For The Money
    Style: psych
    Country: us
    Audio: lossless (ape, cue, covers)
    time: 39'18" size" 224mb

    Third studio album by the Mothers of Invention. Released on March 4, 1968 on Verve Records, it was subsequently remixed and re-recorded by Frank Zappa and reissued independently by Rykodisc Records in 1986.
    As with the band's previous two albums, We're Only in It for the Money is a concept album, and satirizes left and right-wing politics, particularly the hippie subculture, as well as the Beatles' album Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. It was conceived as part of a project called No Commercial Potential, which produced three other albums: Lumpy Gravy, Cruising with Ruben & the Jets and Uncle Meat.
    We're Only in It for the Money encompasses rock, orchestral and experimental music, with its orchestral segments deriving from the recording sessions for Lumpy Gravy, which was previously issued as a solo instrumental album by Capitol Records and was subsequently reedited by Zappa and released by Verve; the reedited Lumpy Gravy was produced simultaneously with We're Only in It for the Money and is the first part of a conceptual continuity, continued with the reedited Lumpy Gravy and concluded with Zappa's final album, Civilization Phaze III (1994).

    01. "Are You Hung Up?" 1:24
    02. "Who Needs The Peace Corps?" 2:34
    03. "Concentration Moon" 2:22
    04. "Mom & Dad" 2:16
    05. "Telephone Conversation" 0:49
    06. "Bow Tie Daddy" 0:33
    07. "Harry, You're A Beast" 1:21
    08. "What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body?" 1:03
    09. "Absolutely Free" 3:24
    10. "Flower Punk" 3:04
    11. "Hot Poop" 0:27
    12. "Nasal Retentive Calliope Music" 2:03
    13. "Let's Make The Water Turn Black" 2:01
    14. "The Idiot Bastard Son" 3:19
    15. "Lonely Little Girl" 1:10
    16. "Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance" 1:33
    17. "What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body? (reprise)" 1:02
    18. "Mother People" 2:26
    19. "The Chrome Plated Megaphone Of Destiny" 6:25
    The Mothers of Invention:
    Frank Zappa – guitar, piano, vocals, voices
    Dick Barber – vocals
    Jimmy Carl Black – trumpet, drums, vocals, indian
    Roy Estrada – electric bass, vocals
    Bunk Gardner – woodwind
    Billy Mundi – drums, vocals
    Don Preston – keyboards
    Euclid James "Motorhead" Sherwood – baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone, voices
    Suzy Creamcheese – telephone voice
    Ian Underwood – piano, keyboards, voices, woodwind
    Pamela Zarubica – vocals
    Session musicians:
    Eric Clapton – Male speaking part in "Are You Hung Up?" and "Nasal Retentive Calliope Music."
    Gary Kellgren – "the one doing all the creepy whispering" (i.e., interstitial spoken segments)
    Spider Barbour – vocals
    Dick Kunc – "cheerful interruptions" vocal
    Vicki Kellgren – additional telephone vocals
    Sid Sharp – orchestral arrangements on "Absolutely Free", "Mother People" and "The Chrome Plated Megaphone of Destiny"
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2853 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads