R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » August » 13 » Front Page Review ~ 1997 ~ Mystic Soldiers
    Front Page Review ~ 1997 ~ Mystic Soldiers
    Front Page Review ~ 1997 ~ Mystic Soldiersgenre: psych
    country: us
    audio: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 28'10" size: 170 mb
    misc.: unreleased '68 Lp

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    Based in Boston, they initially played covers around the Boston clubs until songwriter Steve Cataldo joined the group in late 1967. Signed to MGM Records, they recorded an album in April/May 1968, produced by Alan Lorber, who was responsible for Bosstown Sound Productions. It's release was delayed by the numerous releases of the other MGM Bosstown acts; and when the band broke up before the album's imminent release, the label decided not to proceed without a functioning band to support it.
    The album is less psychedelic than some of the other Bosstown releases i.e Ultimate Spinach, Beacon Street Union and is more like early prog - similar in some ways to Detroit's SRC. Prophecies/Morning Blue opens with the sounds of children playing, over which elegiac voices intone predictions of nuclear holocaust. After a gradual accelaration, the music suddenly lurches at the point of climax into a heavily syncopated, frenetic jazz piano solo in 5/4 time. Prism Fawn has an imperious organ/guitar riff and a driving beat. One Eyed Minor is a jaunty piece in a folkdance rhythm and Feels Like Love is a nondescript rocker, but Silver Children has a pleasant relaxed groove and Valley Of Eyes is another intense apocalyptic piece with flanged drums and bluesy 1968-style fuzz guitar. Without You is a dull proto-70s softrocker and For The Best Offer ends the album in a tone of enigmatic whimsy. Overall an enjoyable addendum to the Bosstown canon.
    Cataldo later recorded as St. Steven, whilst Bartlett was in Brother Fox And The Tar Baby. Later still, Cataldo formed the punk band Nervous Eaters and played guitar on some Willie Alexander recordings. Essentially the band played good soft-psych.
    The bonus cuts on the reissue of the One St Stephen album are actually by Front Page Review. ~ (Vernon Joynson/Lloyd Peasley)

    01. Prophecies - Morning Blue 3:54
    02. Prism Fawn 3:44
    03. One Eyed Minor 1:55
    04. Feels Like Love 2:32
    05. Silver Children 6:27
    06. Valley Of Eyes 2:16
    07. Without You 3:46
    08. For The Best Offer 3:35

    STEVE CATALDO    vcls, gtr
    JOSEPH SANTANGELO    piano, organ
    DAVID WEBER    drms

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 785 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads