R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » February » 25 » Gotic ~ 1977 ~ Escenes
    Gotic ~ 1977 ~ Escenes

    genre: sympho prog

    country: spain

    quality : mp3 (320k, scans)

    time: 37'21" size: 94 mb

    issue: 2002


    The first thing I expected when I heard the name GOTIC mixed with Spain was a dark form of Flamenco, probably oriented towards the late Medieval period mixed with Spanish Inquisition, but it was just the opposite, GOTIC is light, optimistic and high quality music that gently combines the warm and relaxing sound of CAMEL with early PFM and roots in Spanish ethnic sounds from Cataluña, a great exponent of Spanish Symphonic.

    The band was formed in the late 70's by the famous Rafael Escote in the bass, Jep Nuix (Flute and Piccolo), Jordi Vilaprinyo (Keyboards) and Jordi Marti in the drums and percussion.

    As I said before the main influences of their only album Escenes released in 1978 are Camel and PFM, but there are some other easy to identify Prog references to Gentle Giant and some form of Fusion that reminds me of the Jazz-Symphonic sound of Chick Corea's keyboard in his RETURN TO FOREVER era.

    The best track of the album is the 10:15 minutes Epic "Historia d'una Gota d'Aigua" (History of a Drop of Water) with the dramatic change between the relaxing introp and the breathtaking closing section.

    Sadly they didn't had the chance to evolve because the debut album was more than promissory but as a consolation Rafael Escote has a very prolific career as member of the Fusion band Pegasus and as a soloist.

    Iván Melgar Morey - Perú

    1. Escenes de la terra en festa I de la mar en calma (4:02)
    2. Imprompt I (5:53)
    3. Jocs d'ocells (3:33)
    4. La revolucio (4:08)
    5. Danca d'estiu (3:30)
    6. I tu que ho veies tot tan facil (5:39)
    7. Historia d'una gota d'aigua (10:14)

    - Rafael Escoté / bass, gong, claps
    - Jordi Martí / drums, percussion, claps
    - Jep Nuix / flute, piccolo, claps
    - Jordi Vilaprinyó / keyboards, synthesizers
    + Jordi Codina / classical guitar (7)
    - Josep Albert Cubero / acoustic & electric guitars (2-6-7)
    - Jordi Vidal / effects


    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3002 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads