R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » December » 17 » Jefferson Airplane ~ 1969 ~ Bless Its Pointed Little Head
    Jefferson Airplane ~ 1969 ~ Bless Its Pointed Little Head
    Jefferson Airplane ~ 1969 ~ Bless Its Pointed Little Head
    genre: psych
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:05'32" size: 407 mb
    misc.: live
    PsychedelicShark :
    The words "It wasn’t the Airplane, It Was Beauty Killed the Beast” will be eternally etched on my mind after countless listenings to this album. These are the closing lines of the film ‘King Kong’ and the opening to this album. The fans at the Fillmore West (mainly, I suspect) and East (possibly) were treated to a film show before the band came on stage. They used to do things differently in those days. The cover picture of a comatose Jack Cassady completes the image. This band wanted to blast you with the impact of their live show and this album did it comprehensively.
    The Airplane are at the height of their performance capability on this one. It’s a live album featuring  a high octane ‘Somebody to Love’, and ‘Plastic Fantastic Lover', ‘The Other Side of This Life’ (from the first album and a classic by Fred Neil) and The Fat Angel – a tribute to the band written by Donovan. This latter track has two superb solos by Kaukonen. This is rock par excellence performed by a band when they were really on song. ‘Turn Down the Lights’ is just the band complaining about the fact that the ‘house’ lights are on and detracting from the light show, but it does give a brilliant sense of how the band empathised with the audience and Kantner’s threat of ‘we’ll send Owsley to get you’ reminds you of the roots of psychedelic mayhem. 
    The final track is ‘Bear Melt', an 11-minute epic in which Grace sings ‘It feels pretty good when somebody gives it to you'. What could THAT be about?
    01. "Clergy" 1:35
    02. "3/5's Of A Mile In 10 Seconds" 4:39
    03. "Somebody To Love" 4:16
    04. "Fat Angel" 7:37
    05. "Rock Me Baby" 7:49
    06. "The Other Side Of This Life" 6:45
    07. "It's No Secret" 3:31
    08. "Plastic Fantasitic Lover" 3:53
    09. "Turn Out The Lights" 1:25
    10. "Bear Melt" 11:27
    11. "Today" 3:45
    12. "Watch Her Ride" 3:19
    13. "Wan't You Try" 5:30
    Paul Kantner - guitar, vocal;
    Marty Balin - guitar, vocal;
    Jorma Kaukonen - guitar, vocal;
    Grace Slick - keyboards, vocals;
    Jack Casady - bass;
    Spencer Dryden - drums.
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2556 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads