R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » February » 23 » Joy Unlimited ~ 1970 ~ Joy Unlimited (aka Overground)
    Joy Unlimited ~ 1970 ~ Joy Unlimited (aka Overground)
    Joy Unlimited ~ 1970 ~ Joy Unlimited (aka Overground)

    genre: soul

    country: germany

    quality : lossless (flac cue, log, scans)

    time: 42'41" size: 293 mb

    issue: 2007


    Cosmic Dreams:

    This group began their life as Joy & The Hit Kids, fronted by the talented female vocalist Joy Fleming, and they released four singles on Decca in 1967 and 1968. Their name was changed into Joy Unlimited in 1969, and five further singles were released on Polydor in 1969 and 1970 (I'm not sure if some of the singles were issued under the old name). Polydor also released their first album Overground (1970), a befitting title, as it contained 12 short pop-blues rock songs, clearly inspired by Janis Joplin. For this reason, it is a bit dated today and only completists should investigate. By then, the group was a sextet. Schmetterlinge ('butterflies') was a solid step in a progressive direction. Indeed a very versatile album, ranging from the gutsy Joplin blues of "Rankness" via free jazz improvisations like "Sensual Impressions" to excellent progressive rock songs like "Rudiment". This album saw the arrival of a seventh member: Cord Kothe. The arrangements were refined, benefiting from the group's strong musical muscle. This, and both of the subsequent albums, contained ballet music! The female vocals placed Joy Unlimited in the European tradition of bands like Sandrose, Circus 2,000 and Earth & Fire. However, this was to change when Joy Fleming departed to start a solo career in 1972. Also Klaus Nagel left, and Reflections (1973) was recorded by the five remaining members and new American Ken Traylor. Most material was now instrumental, featuring many flute and sax solos. Influences from classical music and folk were also more evident in the compositions. Their last album, Minne (1974), would have fitted in fine on the Pilz label alongside the folk albums of Holderlin and Broselmaschine. It represented a softening of their style - more sophisticated and homogenous. Traylor had left, being replaced by Joschi Dinier, Hans Lingenfelder and the returning Klaus Nagel. Minne was a very good orchestrated progressive folk-rock album, apart for a couple of short brass-jazz tracks.


    01. Save Me Save Me 2:26
    02. Groove With What You've Got 2:23
    03. All Together Now 2:37
    04. I Hold No Grudge 3:12
    05. Feelin' 2:45
    06. Take Me To The Pilot 3:30
    07. Have You Met Anyone Lately? 2:27
    08. It's Not Alright 2:40
    09. I Just Made Up My Mind 2:25
    10. Mr. Pseudonym 3:49
    11. Mr. Slater 2:34
    12. Helpless Child 3:14
    13. Sunshine (Bonus Track) 2:17
    14. Oh Darlin' (Bonus Track) 3:17
    15. Daytime Nighttime (Bonus Track) 3:05


    Joy Fleming / vocals

    Hans W. Herkenne / drums, percussion

    Albin Metz / trumpet, bass

    Roland Heck / organ, piano, vibes, marimba, percussion, vocals

    Dieter Kindl / bass, guitar, percussion

    Gerd Köthe / saxophone, flute

    Klaus Nagel / guitar, woodwind, percussion, flute

    Hans Lingenfelder / guitar


    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3316 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads