R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 25 » Kin Ping Meh - 1972 - Kin Ping Meh
    Kin Ping Meh - 1972 - Kin Ping Meh
    style: hard
    country: germany
    audio: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans) size: 379  mb
    issue: 2004

    Cosmic Dreams:
    As far as I am aware there were no other German bands like Kin Ping Meh who chose their name in the Chinese language! In 1970, this quintet assembled in Mannheim. They played live extensively during their early years, performing a rough hard rock modelled on British bands like Deep Purple, Uriah Heep and Spooky Tooth. Soon Kin Ping Meh were discovered by Polydor's talent scouts. Joachim Schafer left the hand just before the recording of their first album. He was promptly replaced by Willie Wagner, who joined the band in the Windrose Studio. Indeed Wagner wrote the stand-out track of this album, the opening 11 minute track "Fairy-Tales", a haunting heavy rock song with long, "progressive" guitar and organ solo parts. Even if you do not find this style attractive, you'll sense the great enthusiasm of the band. There were also some mellow, folky songs on the album, like "Too Many People", recorded live and boasting an irresistible chorus. Kin Ping Meh was produced by the experienced rock veterans Achim Reichel and Frank Dostal. The engineer was none other than Konrad Plank. The album is highly recommended for fans of groups like Epitaph, Zarathustra, Frame, etc. It's now quite rare (selling for more than 300 DEM) as the first and only vinyl edition was only pressed at around 5,000 copies.

    Torsten Herzog and Willie Wagner left Kin Ping Meh in 1972. The band had already been expanded with Alan Joe Wroe, Uli Gross (but he left again within Months) and Gagey Mrozeck (ex-2066 & Then). No. 2 (1972) followed the path of its predecessor - it was filled with great quality heavy progressive rock. Besides their self-written material. Kin Ping Meh were also bold enough to make an 11 minute version of "Come Together", culminating in a long instrumental jam - a highlight of the album! Fans of early Kin Ping Meh should also check out the double album Hazy Age On Stage (Second Battle SBT 002) (1991), featuring great live tracks recorded in Sprendlingen in January, 1973 and also some studio out-takes from 1972. When vocalist Werner Stephan left in May 1973, it marked the end of Kin Ping Meh's first phase. Regrettably, none of their following albums could match their first two. Gagey Mrozeck recommended Geff Harrison (his old friend from 2066 & Then) as a replacement for Werner Stephan. The quintet recorded Kin Ping Meh III (1973) with added choir and brass. Unfortunately, most people find their 'new' sound far less appealing than their previous one. Virtues And Sins (1974) was a further slide towards a more standard Anglo-American influenced rock. Frieder Schmilt left in 1975, and was replaced by Chris Klober (ex-Curly Curve). He only participated on the double live album Concrete (1976) before the band fell apart. Geff Harrison set out on a solo recording career, but only with moderate success.
    01 - Fairy-Tales 9:53
    02 - Sometime 5:50
    03 - Don't You Know 7:18
    04 - Too Many People 5:02
    05 - Drugson's Trip 5:53
    06 - My Dove 3:37
    07 - Everything 5:16
    08 - My Future 2:46

    Werner Stephan - Lead Vocals, Accustic Guitar, Percussion
    Willie Wagner - Guitars, Mouth Organ, Vocals
    Frieder Schmitt - Organ, Piano, Electric Piano, Mellotron 400, Vocals
    Torsten Herzog - Bass, Vocals
    Kalle Weber - Drums, Percussion

    oboom : p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2899 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads