R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 24 » Lothar & The Hand People - 1968 - Presenting + 1969 - Space Hymn
    Lothar & The Hand People - 1968 - Presenting + 1969 - Space Hymn
    Lothar & The Hand People - 1968 - Presenting + 1969 - Space HymnStyle: psych
    Country: us
    Audio: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans), mp3: (320k, scans, 218 mb)
    Size: 541mb
    Issue: 2003 Acadia, 2cd

    oe: Amazing band!!! Don't you hear something from Lothar's Machines in Floyd's Money?

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    This was one of the most interesting groups to emerge from America in this era. They moved to New York to record their two albums. Lothar was actually the name they gave to the theremin, which, together with two moog synthesisers, Ampex tape decks, keyboards and a linear controller characterised the group's sound.
    Their debut album was reissued in the U.K. a few years ago and is consequently not difficult to obtain. On most tracks like This May Be Goodbye and That's Another Story, the theremin's influence is confined to short intros to fairly conventional two or three minute compositions. However, three exceptions to this are the weird Machines, the unusual Sex And Violence and final track It Comes On Anyhow - which is a foretaste of some of the psychedelic craziness which appeared on their follow-up album.
    On Space Hymn, the theremin and other electronic gadgetry is generally used to better effect. The album is composed of a mixture of weird material and more commercial numbers, such as Yes! I Love You, Heatwave, and Say I Do (which were issued as singles). The lyrics are often full of the usual hippie cliches. For example, What Grows On Your Head? is, as one might expect, romanticising about the freedom and virtues of long hair, while Midnight Ranger sounds like the story of a ranger who has had one trip too many! Some of the other material is particularly weird, notably keyboard instrumental Wedding Night For Those Who Love, Sdrawkcab and Today Is Only Yesterday's Tomorrow. The title track, however, reaches new heights of craziness when the vocalist sets about hypnotising his audience! Certainly an interesting album, this is recommended. Apart from Heatwave, all the material was written by the band and you won't hear anything more unusual from this era than that title track.
    Kim King went on to become a producer and sound engineer, notably working with Holy Moses and Colin Winski. ~ (Vernon Joynson/Stephane Rebeschini)

    cd1: 1969 - Space Hymn

    01. Yes I Love You 3:18
    02. Today Is Only Yesterday's Tomorrow 5:22
    03. Midnight Ranger 3:22
    04. Sister Lonely 2:42
    05. Wedding Night For Those Who Love 4:29
    06. Heatwave 3:38
    07. Say 'I Do' 2:57
    08. What Grows On Your Head 3:13
    09. Sdrawkcab (Backwards) 3:52
    10. Space Hymn 7:12

    cd2: 1968 - Presenting ... Lothar & The Hand People

    01. Machines 2:38
    02. This Is It 2:50
    03. This May Be Goodbye 2:36
    04. That's Another Story 2:10
    05. Kids Are Little People 2:25
    06. Ha (Ho) 3:35
    07. Sex and Violence 2:51
    08. Bye Bye, Love 2:28
    09. Milkweed Love 2:56
    10. You Won't Be Lonely 2:35
    11. Woody Woodpecker 0:48
    12. It Comes On Anyhow  3:19
    13. Paul, In Love 2:58
    14. L-O-V-E (Ask For It By Name) 2:18
    15. Rose Colored Glasses 2:30
    16. Comic Strip 2:37
    17. Every Single Word 2:08
    18. Have mercy (Mercy, Mercy, Mercy) 1:54
    19. Let the Boy Pretend 2:11

    JOHN EMELIN vcls
    TOM FLYE perc
    KIM KING moog, synth, gtr
    PAUL CONLY keyb'ds, moog

    nitroflare: lossless:  p1, p2  ;  mp3: p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3180 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads