R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » September » 30 » Lovecraft ~ 1970 ~ Valley of the Moon
    Lovecraft ~ 1970 ~ Valley of the Moon
    Lovecraft ~ 1970 ~ Valley of the Moongenre: psych
    state: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers,  size: 267 mb)
    time: 38'08" misc: H.P. Lovecraft as Lovecraft

    AllMusic Review by Joe Viglione:
    Drummer Michael Tegza is the only original from two years prior when the band was H.P. Lovecraft on Phillips Records. For this 1970 Reprise release, they are dubbed Lovecraft and have abandoned the psychedelic Jefferson Airplane sound for a progressive Crosby, Stills & Nash-meets-Uriah Heep flavor. In 1975, drummer Tegza re-formed the band again and separated the two words, their Love Craft album, We Love You Whoever You Are, took things into an almost Santana-goes-soul direction. The lineup here of Tegza, Jim Donlinger, Michael Been, and Marty Grebb is more than competent, maintaining the strong vocal presence of the original band, but the direction is too studied and not as much fun as the previous incarnation. "We Can All Have It Together" sounds like Seatrain's "13 Questions" meets Lighthouse's "One Fine Morning." "Brother I Wonder" delves right into that Crosby, Stills & Nash territory, while "Love Has Come" is "Carry On" by Graham Nash and company. Tegza's drums are big, and perhaps a bit out of place for what was a psychedelic band. Even on this, he tends to overplay, the rolling thunder of the percussion interfering with the acoustics on "The Dawn," which is an otherwise interesting piece. "Never Gonna Go Back" is The Doors Soft Parade by way of Rare Earth -- not a good combination. The worst excesses of the group are bared here when they should've blended The Doors with Roxy Music, the saxophone on this song not as outrageous and wild as it could be. "Dear" is one of the stronger tracks, with British flavors and exquisite harmony vocals and piano. There are no qualms with the musicianship, it's just that the promise of early H.P.Lovecraft has dissolved into very mainstream and somewhat uninteresting material. "Hopefully We'll All Remain Together" also almost makes it, but the preaching gets in the way of sounds that are in transition. This is a strange one, for sure. Interesting Jack London poem hidden on the bottom right of the front cover espousing the philosophy Neil Young sang about on "My My Hey Hey." The album just doesn't have the intensity this poem describes.

    01. We Can All Have It Together 3:55
    02. Brother I Wonder 2:28
    03. Love Has Come to Me 3:13
    04. Will I Know When My Time Has Come 3:00
    05. Two Step Tussle 3:43
    06. Take Me by the Hand 3:10
    07. Lady Come Softly 2:35
    08. Dawn 4:56
    09. Never Gonna Go Back 3:42
    10. Dear 3:09
    11. Hopefully We'll All Remain Together 4:17

    Jim Donlinger 
    Michel Been
    Marty Grepp

    $CUT$see also: 

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 728 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads