R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 24 » Lucifer Was - 2004 - Blues From Hellah
    Lucifer Was - 2004 - Blues From Hellah

    Lucifer Was - 2004 - Blues From HellahStyle: prog
    Country: Norway
    Audio: mp3 (320k)
    Size: 92mb
    Year: 2004 (records from '83-'84)

    oe: very good band guys, although plays this materal in '80s.

    According to this Norwegian bands history, Lucifer Was came together in 1970 and toiled around for many years without releasing any recorded material. Upon being discovered by the Record Heaven label, the band was convinced to record songs written back in the early 70's which were only played live at the time. Underground and Beyond is the culmination of those songs, a raw and aggressive collection of songs that owes to many of the great bands of that era, including Jethro Tull, Black Sabbath, Cream, Mountain, and early Scorpions.
    Led by guitarist/vocalist Thore Engen, the band featured his pounding and savage riffs complemented by dual flutes. If one can imagine what Jethro Tull would have sounded like if Tony Iommi had chosen to stick around instead of going back to Black Sabbath in 1969, Lucifer Was would be a good example. Hearing the bludgeoning guitar licks dueling it out with manic flutes throughout the bands first CD is quite impressive, and a precursor to the surprise the group had in store for the follow-up, In Anadi's Bower. Here the band brought in a full-time singer named Jon Ruder (previously vocals were shared by Engen and flautist Dag Stenseng), whose vocals sound like a cross between Ian Anderson and Klaus Meine from the Scorpions. In addition, the band now has two Mellotron players, who add even more depth to the songs. One listen to the title track, with its waves of cascading Mellotrons that ultimately gives way to a classic, evil guitar riff from Engen, will send shivers up your spine. Another highlight is the four-part epic "Little Child", that is the most progressive and adventurous song the band has yet recorded. Listeners who love crunchy guitars, wild flute playing, and tons of Mellotron will find much to like with Lucifer Was. -- Peter Pardo
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1755 | Rating: 5.0/2

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads