R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » November » 17 » Mary Hopkin ~ 1995 ~ Those Were The Days
    Mary Hopkin ~ 1995 ~ Those Were The Days
    Mary Hopkin ~ 1995 ~ Those Were The Days
    genre: pop
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans,  size: 311 mb)
    time: 54'22"
    misc.: '68-'71 A's & B's
    This collection is partly related to the similarly titled 11-song LP compilation of Hopkin's work that appeared during 1972. That release was premature, a result of Apple Records' thrashing about trying to generate revenue, but time has made the need for such a collection a little more clear. Hopkin ended up leaving behind a considerable number of singles that never made it onto albums, all of which are featured here along with most of their B-sides; the latter are extremely important, because Hopkin usually preferred the B-sides, feeling they represented what she was really about as a singer far better than her A-sides. Almost all of the material is eminently listenable and much of it is extremely enjoyable. Hopkin may have regarded herself as a folksinger, but her intonation and articulation made her a very formidable pop talent as well, as revealed in her smoothly elegant version of "Que Sera Sera." Whether she was singing in Italian or English, or in a folk or a pop idiom, Hopkin brought beguiling sensitivity and emotion to her recordings, and is consistently interesting to hear for her finely nuanced diction. And just when listeners think they know what to expect from her, along comes her country-styled "Jefferson," which, with its gentle, good-natured whoop of delight from Hopkin and some careful overdubbing, sounds like a rehearsal take from the Emmylou Harris/Linda Ronstadt/Dolly Parton trio album. A few places drag, such as the overproduced 1971-vintage single "Let My Name Be Sorrow," which demands more drama than Hopkin can comfortably bring to the song, but it is balanced by the presence of "When I Am Old One Day," a previously unreleased outtake from Earth Song/Ocean Song -- which, with the three songs off of the latter album, comprise the best material on this collection -- and "Kew Gardens," a Ralph McTell song that was previously only available as the B-side of a single. The sound is state of the art circa the mid-'90s, with a lot of warmth and detail, and the notes are reasonably thorough and accompanied by a detailed release history of each song. ~ Bruce Eder, All Music Guide
    01. "Those Were The Days" 5:11
    02. "Goodbye" 2:25
    03. "Temma Harbour" 3:23
    04. "Think About Your Children" 3:01
    05. "Knock, Knock, Who's There?" 2:33
    06. "Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be)" 3:07
    07. "Lontano Dagli Occhi" 3:25
    08. "Sparrow" 3:12
    09. "Heritage" 2:24
    10. "The Fields Of St. Etienne" 3:11
    11. "Jefferson" 2:40
    12. "Let My Name Be Sorrow" 3:31
    13. "Kew Gardens" 2:24
    14. "When I Am Old One Day" 2:26
    15. "Silver Birch And Weeping Willow" 2:49
    16. "Streets Of London" 4:30
    17. "Water, Paper & Clay" 4:10
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2761 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads