R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » December » 4 » Offenbach ~ 1973 ~ Bulldozer
    Offenbach ~ 1973 ~ Bulldozer
    Offenbach ~ 1973 ~ Bulldozergenre: avant, sympho prog
    state: canada
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 309 mb)
    time: 46'12"

    Formed in Montreal in the late 1960s as Les Gants blancs, the band went through a variety of names (including "7e Invention", "Grandpa & Company", "Offenbach Pop Opera" and "Offenbach Soap Opéra") before settling on Offenbach. The band initially consisted of vocalist Gerry Boulet, guitarist Johnny Gravel, organist Pierre Harel, bassist Michel Lamothe (son of country singer Willie Lamothe) and drummer Denis Boulet (Gerry's brother).
    Offenbach released their debut album, Offenbach Soap Opéra, in 1971. Although the band's material was primarily in French, that album also included two English songs.
    Denis Boulet left the band in 1972, and was replaced by Roger (Wezo) Belval. In November of that year, the band performed a "Mass for the Dead" at St. Joseph's Oratory, which was released on album as Saint-Chrone de néant.
    In 1973, the band toured France, and were based there for the next two years as they toured Europe extensively. Several performances from this era were documented in the concert film Tabarnac. Harel left the band in 1974, but was not replaced; his keyboard duties were taken over by Gerry Boulet. In 1975, the band returned to Montreal.
    Lamothe and Belval left in 1977 to join Harel in Corbeau, and were replaced by Norman Kerr on bass and Pierre Lavoie on drums; Jean Millaire also joined the band that year as a second guitarist, but left within the year and was replaced by John McGale. Kerr and Lavoie departed in 1978, and were replaced by Breen Leboeuf on bass and Robert Harrison on drums.
    In 1976, the band recorded its first of two English albums, Never Too Tender, and toured across Canada to promote it. They subsequently released two more French albums, Offenbach and Traversion, before their second English language album, Rock Bottom, was released in 1980. Traversion won the band its first Félix Award for rock album of the year in 1979.

    In 1979 Offenbach toured Quebec with the Vic Vogel Big Band. A recording of their concert at the St. Denis Theatre was issued in 1980 as Offenbach en fusion, which won the Félix Award for rock album of the year in 1980. The band also received Félix Awards in 1980 as group of the year and for show of the year, the latter honoring a concert on April 3 in which Offenbach became the first Québécois band ever to headline at the Montreal Forum.
    In 1982, Harrison left the band and was replaced by Pat Martel.
    The band released three more albums of new material, as well as the live album À fond d'train (documenting a successful tour with Plume Latraverse), before creative tensions within the band led Gerry Boulet to record his first solo album in 1985. The band performed final shows at the Colisée de Québec and the Montreal Forum that year; the Montreal concert was released on album as Le Dernier show and as the concert film Marci. ...

    01. Bulldozer (chante) 4:41
    02. Hey boss 4:34
    03. Magie 4:08
    04. Caline de doux blues 5:02
    05. Solange Tabarnac 0:28
    06. Marche de Peanut 2:08
    07. Bataille 2:46
    08. Bulldozer Theme (sax) 3:04
    09. Qu'est-ce qui te prend 2:47
    10. S.O.S. 3:15
    11. Ah Comme on s'ennuie 3:09
    12. Faut que j'me pousse 2:39
    13. Adios Amor 3:20
    14. S.O.S. (Bonus Track) 3:24
    15. Ah comme on s'ennuie (Bonus Track) 4:13

    Gérry Boulet / keyboard, saxophone, vocals
    Pierre Harel / keyboard, vocals
    Jean Gravel / guitars
    Michel Lamothe / bass
    Roger Belval / drums
    Mouffe / vocals (10,14)
    La Famille Savard / vocals (13)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1297 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads