R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 30 » Pierre Moerlen's Gong - 1979 - Downwind
    Pierre Moerlen's Gong - 1979 - Downwind
    genre: prog
    country: uk/france
    quality : lossless (WavPack, cue, log, scans)
    time: 40'09" size: 234 mb
    issue: 1992

    The impressive Downwind is the first release from the band under its new moniker, Pierre Moerlen's Gong, as Moerlen assumes creative control and dominance. The release marks a return to vocals/lyrics, which proves only partially successful. Moerlen's voice is a hit on the opener, the rocking "Aeroplane," and the collective vocals on the fast-paced, percussive "Jin-Go-Lo-Ba" (popularized by Santana) are right on target. His singing is weak, though, on "What You Know" and detracts from the song's quality. Mick Taylor makes his only appearance here with an exceptional guitar solo. Downwind is also a return to compositions dominated by rock structures and styles, the jazz element minimal this time around. The instrumental cuts are sublime: "Emotions" and "Xtasea" are relaxing; "Crosscurrents" and "Downwind" are energetic and exciting. The title cut is easily the highlight of the album, featuring guest appearances by Steve Winwood (moog, synth) and guitarist Mike Oldfield. At almost 13 minutes, this thrilling composition resembles the early work of Oldfield, particularly strains of "Tubular Bells, Pt. 1," and specifically the section used for the film The Exorcist. On "Downwind," Moerlen's percussives are ablaze, recalling his "Percolations" performance from Gazeuse. Bassist Hansford Rowe is prominent, and saxophonist Didier Malherbe, a longtime Gong staple, makes his only appearance on the album. — David Ross Smith (All Music Guide)

    1. "Aeroplane" Moerlen, O'Lochlain 2:42
    2. "Crosscurrents" Moerlen 6:13
    3. "Downwind" Moerlen 12:34
    4. "Jin-Go-Lo-Ba" Olatunje 3:27
    5. "What You Know" Moerlen, O'Lochlain 3:44
    6. "Emotions" Moerlen 4:46
    7. "Xtasea" Moerlen 6:40

    Pierre Moerlen: drums, vibraphone, marimba, timpani, keyboards, vocals
    Hansford Rowe: bass
    Ross Record: guitar, vocals
    Benoît Moerlen: vibraphone and laughter
    François Causse: percussion
    Didier Lockwood: violin (2,6,7)
    Didier Malherbe: saxophone (3)
    Mike Oldfield: guitar, solina strings, bass, Irish drum (3)
    Steve Winwood: Hohner clavinet, Moog, Tom solo (3)
    Terry Oldfield: flute (3)
    Mick Taylor: guitar (5)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2657 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads