R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 30 » Premiata Forneria Marconi - 1974 - World Became The World
    Premiata Forneria Marconi - 1974 - World Became The World
    genre: prog
    country: italy
    quality : lossless (wavpack, cue, log, scans)
    time: 40'02" size: 234 mb
    issue: 1997

    ProgressiveRock :
    PFM traveled to London and Advision to record their third album, with Claudio Fabi producing both an English and Italian version of the same record (the latter released as Isola di Niente). Pete Sinfield again provided lyrics for the English version of the record. New to the band was bassist Patrick Djivas, previously with Italian fusion protagonists Area. The album builds on their unique formula with the added benefit of rocking significantly harder than previous efforts, due in part to Franco Mussida stepping to the fore on electric guitar. The result is certainly one of PFM’s finest. "The Mountain" opens the album with a foreboding choral section, followed quickly by some breakneck rhythm Di Cioccio and Djivas. Bold and intricate, it offers grandeur, in the finest of Italian Prog tradition. The gentle "Just Look Away" is a throwback to their previous album, while the title track, (only on the English LP), chimes over a huge King Crimson-like chorus. The fanatical "Four Holes In The Ground" opens the second side, pacing through its several sections, with Mussida adding some rather fine electric guitar to this new take on tarantella of "Celebration". "Is My Face Straight On" follows in similar tradition. It is the strongest lyrically on the album and features a sweet accordion solo from Premoli. The album closes with the powerful instrumental "Have You Cake and Beat It". Shifting through several moods, it is one of PFM’s most refined compositions and features virtuoso soloing from Mauro Pagani. The album was again commercially successful and afforded PFM the opportunity to tour the North America for the first time, supporting the likes of Robin Trower, Poco and Dave Mason. Their self-professed highlight was before 250,000 fans at the Charlotte Speedway Festival in August. A live album from this period was issued on Manticore early the following year under the title Cook (a reference to their culinary abilities). Indeed, it was a capable showcase of their live performance.

    01. The Mountain 10:46
    02. Just Look Away 4:03
    03. The World Became the World 4:49
    04. Four Holes in the Ground 6:23

    05. Is My Face on Straight 6:40
    06. Have Your Cake and Beat it (Instrumental) 7:21

    Franz Di Cioccio / drums, percussion, vocals
    Jan Patrick Djivas / bass, vocals
    Franco Mussida / guitars, lead vocals
    Mauro Pagani / woodwind, violin, vocals
    Flavio Premoli / keyboards, lead vocals
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1921 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads