R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » January » 3 » Quatermass ~ 1970 ~ Quatermass
    Quatermass ~ 1970 ~ Quatermass
    Quatermass ~ 1970 ~ Quatermassgenre: heavy prog
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, covers, 348 mb)
    time: 1:01'00"

    Quatermass was a British progressive rock band formed in London, England in September 1969. Lauded as a band of the future on the release of their debut album and supplementing single, "Black Sheep of the Family", major commercial success eluded the band throughout its brief duration.
    The trio consisted of bass player and vocalist John Gustafson, keyboardist J. Peter Robinson and Mick Underwood on drums, all well-established and previously distinguished musicians who had met while playing in Episode Six. As Quatermass, a distinguished organ-tinged sound was striven for by these musicians, with swinging rock coupled with striking ballads. Their first and only album sold itself through "...compactness, wealth of ideas, forceful lead vocals and complicated arrangements, enriched by pianist Robinson's tasteful use of classical strings which are on display along with spacious keyboard passages at their height in the mold of The Nice." One track, Laughin' Tackle, includes 16 violins, 6 violas, 6 cellos, and 3 double bass. The strings were arranged by Robinson. This track also includes the requisite drum solo by Underwood. In 1994, Underwood, and Nick Simper joined in a project titled Quatermass II. Gustafson contributed two songs on their eventual album, Long Road (1997), which also involved Gary Davis and Bart Foley on guitars, with Don Airey on keyboards.
    The band took its name from Professor Bernard Quatermass, a fictional scientist who had been the hero of three science fiction serials produced by BBC Television in the 1950s.

    01. Entropy 1:11
    02. Black Sheep Of The Family 3:39
    03. Post War Saturday Echo 9:43
    04. Good Lord Knows 2:54
    05. Up On The Ground 7:11
    06. Gemini 5:54
    07. Make Up Your Mind 8:44
    08. Laughin' Tackle 10:35
    09. Entropy 0:42

    10. One Blind Mice 3:19
    11. Punting 7:09

    John Gustafson — bass, vocals
    Peter Robinson — keyboards
    Mick Underwood — drums, percussion

    many musicians

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 881 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads