R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » July » 26 » Rhinoceros ~ 1968 ~ Rhinoceros
    Rhinoceros ~ 1968 ~ Rhinoceros
    Rhinoceros ~ 1968 ~ Rhinoceros
    genre: heavy soul
    country: us
    quality: mp3 (256k, scans)
    time: 35'51"  size: 67 mb
    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    Assembled by Doors/Love producer Paul Rothschild, this Los Angeles outfit was largely composed of ex-members of well known bands and is hence regarded as one of the first 'supergroups'. In fact they evolved out of Elektra Records Project Supergroup, formed between November '67 and February '68. Danny Weis and Jerry Penrod were from the Iron Butterfly, Michael Fonfara the Electric Flag, Billy Mundi the Mothers Of Invention, and Doug Hastings the Daily Flash and (briefly) the Buffalo Springfield.
    As a result of this pedigree and some strong early live performances, expectations amongst the LA cognoscenti were high and Elektra quickly financed the band to the tune of $80,000 (big money in 1968). Recorded in live takes, their debut album garnered favourable reviews in the music press at the time, but tends to get slagged off today as a fairly nondescript blend of blues/jazz/funk/gospel-tinged late '60s rock. One short catchy instrumental Apricot Brandy was a minor hit single, later used by the BBC as a Radio One programme-link. After this debut however, things started to go downhill.
    Jerry Penrod left soon after to be briefly replaced by Danny Weis's brother, Steve, and finally by Peter Hodgson. In fact Hodgson had been the original bass player, but was only with the initial line-up briefly.
    Their second album met with a muted commercial and critical response and Mundi, Gerber, and Hastings soon quit (Gerber releasing a solo album in 1971 on Shelter records.)

    The revised lineup released a followup album in a similar vein (and to similar indifference) and the band decided to leave Elektra (against Jac Holzman's wishes). The band split in October 1971, but reformed with slightly different personnel in July 1972 as Blackstone and moved to Canada. Fonfara, Finley, Hodgson, and Leishman were all Canadians and in the '60s had played together in a Toronto band, Jon and Lee and the Checkmates. In 1972, they released an album On The Line (produced by Paul Rothschild) on a Canadian label (GRT 92301025). Hodgson rejoined after having had spels with David Clayton-Thomas and Jackson Browne. Leishman and Edwards came in from The Duke Edwards Cycle, whilst Crooks had played on Dr John's autumn 1969 tour alongside ex-member Doug Hastings. He later played with White Cloud and Loudon Wainwright III.
    After a number of personnel changes Blackstone became the Blackstone Rangers and ended up backing Lou Reed in the mid-70's, with Michael Fonfara becoming Reed's right-hand man for a number of years.
    Weis left in late 1970 and replaced Buzzy Feiten in The Rascals. Hastings left in June 1969 and joined Pam Polland. He later did sessions with David Ackles, Danny O'Keefe and Bill Cowsill. Tomlinson came in from Montreal bands Milkwood and Damage. He later played with Bearfoot.
    Weis and Tomlinson later played with Rick James before his Motown deal and Weis also led Bette Midler's 'Rose' band. ~ (Lloyd Peasley/Nick Warburton)

    01.When You Say You're Sorry (3:52)
    02.Same Old Way (2:04)
    03.Apricot Brandy (1:59)
    04.That Time Of the Year (4:13)
    05.You're My Girl (I Don't Want To Discuss It) (4:40)
    06.I Need Love (4:25)
    07.I've Been There (4:26)
    08.Belbuekus (2:27)
    09.Along Comes Tomorrow (4:39)
    10.I Will Serenade You (3:20)

    Alan Gerber (Keyboards, Vocals)
    Michael Fanfara (Organ, Keyboards)
    John Finley (Vocals)
    Douglas Hastings (Guitar)
    Billy Mundi (Drums, Percussion)
    Jerry Penrod (Bass)
    Danny Weis (Guitar, Piano, Keyboards)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3343 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads