R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » August » 5 » Sagittarius ~ 1968 ~ Present Tense
    Sagittarius ~ 1968 ~ Present Tense
    Sagittarius ~ 1968 ~ Present Tense
    genre: baroque pop, psych
    country: us
    quality: lossless (WavPack, cue, log, scans) & mp3 (320k, scans)
    time: 28'05"  size: 173 or 70 mb
    misc.: 2004

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:

    Sagittarius were a studio group created by producer, Gary Usher (who had earlier produced albums by The Byrds, Gene Clarke, Chad & Jeremy, The Millennium and The Peanut Butter Conspiracy). Curt Boettcher helped with the arrangements and Terry Melcher was also involved in the projects. Both albums were of particular interest for their high degree of orchestration and polish. In this respect, they were ahead of their times.

    Glen Campbell and Bruce Johnston (later of The Beach Boys) were involved in the first single, My World Fell Down, which came from a bunch of John Carter demos intended for Chad & Jeremy, who refused to cut the vocal... Usher made the backing track a bit freakier (i.e. adding more stops and starts, using The Firesign Theatre) and recorded it himself. Glen Campbell sings lead on the recording with Bruce Johnston and Terry Melcher providing backing. It's possible that Chuck Girard and some other Beach Boys etc. are in there too, although only Bruce and Glen are on the contract card for the session. My World Fell Down received considerable airplay in New York, although it failed to make the Top 40. It can also be found on the original Nuggets compilation, and it's expanded Nuggets 4-CD counterpart.

    Their second 45 Hotel Indiscreet was arranged by Boettcher for outrageous multipart vocals and also features the writers Jim Griffin, (later in Bread), Michael Z. Gordon and The Firesign Theatre... Another couple of tracks on the first album feature these kind of combinations, featuring the nascent Millennium and such unlikely figures as Angelo Badalamente (of "Twin Peaks" fame) as players and writers... the remainder being basically a combination of unused Ballroom tracks, and new songs which were worked up for the Millennium and consequently bumped up to "Grandiose Stereo" mixes. The singles are entirely and radically different versions to the album ones... with the first two minus the 'sound collages' in their album form.

    The second album was recorded on Usher's own Together label and contained some beautiful love songs such as Will You Ever See Me, I Still Can See Your Face and I See In You. More coherent in theme though not as immediate as the first, ecology and religion/philosopphy are to the fore, as they were in Ushers next project, Celestium, which carried the sound and themes of Blue Marble into a more somber, almost Krautrock vein.. kind of like Gary Usher meets Bowie's Low!

    (Vernon Joynson / Max Waller / Dan Murphy / Joe Foster)

    "Another Time" (Boettcher)
    "Song to the Magic Frog (Will You Ever Know)" (Boettcher/O'Malley)
    "You Know I've Found a Way" (Boettcher/Mallory)
    "The Keeper of the Games" (Boettcher)
    "Glass" (Marks/Sheldon)
    "Would You like to Go" (Alexander/Boettcher)
    "My World Fell Down" (Carter/Stephens)
    "Hotel Indiscreet" (Gordon/Griffin)
    "I'm Not Living Here" (Boettcher)
    "Musty Dusty" (Boettcher)
    "The Truth Is Not Real" (Usher)

  • CURT BOETTCHER keyb'ds, vcls, gtr
  • LEE MALLORY gtr, vcls
  • DOUG RHODES keyb'ds, gtr
  • JOEY STEC vcls
  • RON EDGAR drms

  • lossless: depositfiles: p1, p2 = hotfile:  p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 4820 | Rating: 5.0/2

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads