R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » March » 12 » Salem Hill ~ 2005 ~ Mimi's Magic Moment
    Salem Hill ~ 2005 ~ Mimi's Magic Moment

    genre: neo prog

    country: us

    quality : mp3  (256vbr, scans)

    time: 1:02'27"  size: 122 mb

    reviews from GePR:

    Salem Hill is headed up by guitarist / vocalist / primary writer / keyboardist Carl Groves. Influences can be heard (the usual culprits - particularly Pink Floyd, Kings X, Kansas, Rush, Yes, and Crimson) - but Salem Hill goes beyond their influences and definitely has a sound of their own. While there first 2 CDs can be said to be progressive or at least have progressive leanings, depending on how you evaluate such things (and in any case are very good in their own right), it's their later three that are most worth checking out.

    Catatonia is a concept album. The songs tell the story of a guy disillusioned with life with some peculiar characteristics and I'll leave it to the reader to inquire further about the story if interested. Musically, it's primarily guitar oriented prog - with some keyboards added by Groves and Michael Ayers (who later joined Salem Hill). The Robbery of Murder is shows more musical growth and diversity, as well as a more intriguing story. Ayers joined Salem Hill so there's more going on between the guitars and keyboards. Not Everybody's Gold is not a concept album, but it contains the best music Salem Hill has put out (in my opinion). The keyboards are more integrated on this CD. The gem among all the tracks is "Sweet Home Suite" which is over 20 minutes long and is rich in instrumentation, complex time changes and polyrhythms, advanced harmonies, etc. - beyond that - it is truly orchestrated, not just arranged for a rock band. This track alone is worth buying the CD for. The rest of the CD contains some excellent progrock as well. -- Mike Tennenbaum

    Rumor had it after the release of Not Everybody's Gold that the band was on the verge of breaking up. This has been confirmed by the band, and in fact they had decided to call it quits. They called the recording of NEG everything from "not much fun" to "excruciating". Michael Ayers in particular wanted to dissolve the band. However, the original four members of the band (Michael Dearing - guitars, Carl Groves - vocals, guitars, keys, Kevin Thomas - drums, vocals and Patrick Henry - bass) got back together to do one more recording to fulfill a contractual agreement with Cyclops and suddenly discovered they were having a great time again. So, they are back together and working on a new album, tentatively titled Be, and they are shooting for a mid-2003 release date. It is supposed to Be another concept album. -- Fred Trafton

    1. The Joy Gem (15:03)
    2. All Fall Down (7:14)
    3. Stolen By Ghosts (21:29)
    4. The Future Me (18:53)

    - Kevin Thomas / vocals, drums, acoustic & electric mallets

    - Patrick Henry / vocals, 4 & 8 string basses

    - Carl Groves / vocals, guitars, piano & keyboards

    - Michael Dearing / vocals, guitars, here & there keyboards

    Guest musicians:

    - David Ragsdale / violin (1 & 3)

    - Neal Morse / vocals (1)

    - Alyssa Hendrix / vocals (1 & 4)

    - Jeff Eacho / flute (2)

    - Fred Schendel / piano solo (4) - Randy George / guitar


    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2013 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads