R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » February » 25 » Simon Says ~ 2002 ~ Paradise Square
    Simon Says ~ 2002 ~ Paradise Square

    genre: neo prog

    country: sweden

    quality : mp3 (230k, scans)

    time: 1:03'30" size: 154 mb


    Here's another gem from the amazing Mellotron-loaden Skandinavian progrock scene, this time a Swedish band including Mattias Jarlhed (percussion), Jonas Hallberg (guitar and backing vocals), Daniel Fäldt (lead - and backing vocals, sitar) and Stefan Renström (bass, keyboards, voices). Releases: album "Ceinwed" from '95 and "Paradise Square" from '02. Main influence: mid-GENESIS.

    The second album is superior to their debut, in my opinion "Paradise Square" is one of the best releases from 2002! Most of the 7 songs are long, alternating and elaborate pieces with lots of surprising ideas: classical guitar and piano, a jazzy intermezzo, sensitive Spanish guitar or sitar and tablas. The 24-carat symphonic sound is very inspired by mid-GENESIS but has also echoes from ANGLAGARD (sumptuous Mellotron waves), SPOCK'S BEARD (shifting moods and fiery electric guitar), MARILLION (keyboards) and MANFRED MANN'S EARTH BAND (Minimoog flights with pitchbend). The vocals are at some momens a bit theatrical but in general strong and convincing. Funny self-mockery: SIMON SAYS has integrated some musical moments from GENESIS albums ("The Lamb..." and "Foxtrot") but the way they have done this, showcases the mature compositional skills. Recommended.

    Erik Neuteboom, The NETHERLANDS

    1. And By the Water 4:45
    2. Paradise Square 13:42
    3. Striking Out a Single Note For Love 11:08
    4. Fly In a Bottle 5:48
    5. Darkfall 2:35 (inst.)
    6. White Glove 15:26
    7. Aftermath 10:02

    All music & lyrics by S. Renstrom, except 5: music by D. Faldt & S. Renstrom.

    Stefan Renstrom - basses; keyboards; (+ narration on 7)

    Daniel Faldt - lead & backing vocals (+ sitar on 5 & 6)

    Jonas Hallberg - guitars; backing vocals

    Mattias Jarlhed - percussion

    depositfiles: p1p2  =  sharingmatrix: p1p2

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2811 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads