R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » July » 27 » Smokie ~ 1976 ~ Midnight Café
    Smokie ~ 1976 ~ Midnight Café
    Smokie ~ 1976 ~ Midnight Café
    genre: glam, pop
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 1:02'00"  size: 438 mb
    misc.: 2007
    Tapestry of Delights:
    This pop band formed in Bradford. Norman, Silson and Utley had previously been in a band called The Elizabethans. In 1968, with Pete Spencer also on board, they became Kindness and later Smokey, finally changing to Smokie in 1975. Their big break came when they joined Rak Records and Mickie Most introduced them to the songwriting partnership of Chinn and Chapman. Norman's distinctive vocals were quite appealing and with the likes of If You Think You Know How To Love Me, Don't Play Your Rock'n'Roll To Me, Wild Wild Angels, I'll Meet You At Midnight and Living Next Door To Alice they registered some good quality pop singles. They were still going strong as 1976 ended though they failed to make much impact on the lucrative US market, but competed well against the emerging punk scene for a while. When the hits dried up in the eighties Norman and Spencer, who'd been doing a greater share of the songwriting in Smokie's later days, turned to songwriting for other artists in the Rak stable. They were also responsible for the England World Cup Squad's This Time We'll Get It Right in 1982.
    01. Something's Been Making Me Blue (N.Chinn/M.Chapman) - 2:59
    02. Wild Wild Angels (N.Chinn/M.Chapman) - 3:55
    03. Poor Lady (Midnight Baby) (C.Norman/P.Spencer) - 4:40
    04. When My Back Was Against The Wall (C.Norman/P.Spencer) - 3:34
    05. Make Ya Boogie (A.Silson/C.Norman/P.Spencer/T.Uttley) - 5:11
    06. Stranger (N.Chinn/M.Chapman) - 4:38
    07. What Can I Do (A.Silson) - 3:35
    08. Little Lucy (C.Norman/P.Spencer) - 3:44
    09. Going Home (C.Norman/P.Spencer) - 7:30

    10. Train Song (Bonus Track) 4:45
    11. The Loser (Bonus Track) 3:03
    12. I'll Meet You At Midnight (Bonus Track) 3:17
    13. Miss You (Bonus Track) 3:36
    14. Living Next Door To Alice (Bonus Track) 3:28
    15. Run To You (Bonus Track) 3:46

    Chris Norman - lead vocals, rhythm guitar
    Alan Silson - lead guitar, vocals
    Terry Uttley - bass, vocals
    Pete Spencer - drums

    see also: 1975 - Changing All The Time

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2196 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads