R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » March » 10 » Stealers Wheel ~ 1973 ~ Stealers Wheel
    Stealers Wheel ~ 1973 ~ Stealers Wheel
    Stealers Wheel ~ 1973 ~ Stealers Wheelgenre: soft, folk
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, 210 mb) 
    time: 34:26

    Tapestry of Delights:
    Stealer's Wheel was formed by two Scottish folk singers Gerry Rafferty and Joe Egan, who had previously sung harmonies on Rafferty's 1971 solo album Can I Have My Money Back? Rafferty incidentally, had earlier played in Humblebums. Brown, Noakes and Campbell all left the band before any recordings were made. Rafferty and Egan then put together line-up, which included Paul Pilnick (once of The Big Three and later Badger).
    The band's debut album was full of strong harmonies and was well received. Three of the Rafferty/Egan compositions on the album were issued as 45s and gradually one of them Stuck In The Middle With You, wound its way into the Top Ten. It also got to No 6 in the US. Ironically by then, though, Rafferty had left the band and Williams had been given the push. Harper and Grosvenor (later Ariel Bender in Mott The Hoople) were brought in to replace them, but when the song achieved commercial success Rafferty rejoined the band and everyone else (except Egan) was ousted.
    Rafferty and Egan recorded Ferguslie Park (which was named after a district of their home town in Scotland, Paisley) with assistance from various session musicians. Like their debut this album was also produced by Leiber and Stoller and again it was full of strong harmonies. Unlike its predecessor it didn't produce a major hit though there were a couple of minor ones - Everything Will Turn Out Fine (also No 49 in the US) and Star (No 29 in US). Favouring a change of approach Rafferty and Egan started working with a new producer, Mentor Williams. However, a series of problems with backing musicians meant the duo couldn't make live appearances for some months and by the time their next album, Right Or Wrong, was released they didn't have much of an audience to receive it and in any case interpersonal relationships between Rafferty and Egan had reached an all time low. When the band split Rafferty embarked on a successful solo career.

    01. Late Again 3:16
    02. Stuck In The Middle With You 3:29
    03. Another Meaning 2:57
    04. I Get By 3:16
    05. Outside Looking In 3:55
    06. Johnny's Song 3:45
    07. Next To Me 3:37
    08. Jose 3:23
    09. Gets So Lonely 2:57
    10. You Put Something Better Inside Of Me 3:51

    JOE EGAN - vcls, keyb'ds
    GERRY RAFFERTY - gtr, vcls
    ROD COOMBES - drms
    PAUL PILNICK - gtr

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 844 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads