R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » June » 1 » Stoneground ~ 1971 ~ Stoneground
    Stoneground ~ 1971 ~ Stoneground
    Stoneground ~ 1971 ~ Stoneground
    genre: psych
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 37'22"  size: 267 mb
    misc.: 2003
    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    Prior to their first LP this band recorded an album that was never issued. Warner Bros reputedly have the tapes. They became the touring band for Warner Bros. Medicine Ball Caravan, a multi-circus group which toured Canada and the USA and journeyed to London between the summer of 1970 and February 1971. During this time they produced demos for Columbia which later emerged in Italy on Blue Velvet records. Reputedly pretty good despite their indifferent sound quality, they include several tracks not included on later albums. For reasons better known to them the label called the album Stoneground-On Stage (Blue Velvet FCP 001) although none of the tracks are live.
    After their tour they settled in their native San Francisco, where they rapidly established a reputation as a fine live band. Their debut album was notable for fine guitar work by Barnes and used several vocalists to good effect. The follow-up was a double LP consisting of one studio side and three live sides from a San Francisco radio FM broadcast. After one further album with the full size band internal friction lead to the departure of all of the original members except Barnes and Sampson. They even split up all together for a while but Barnes returned in 1973 with a new line-up.
    An historically important band in the tapestry of West Coast rock (for example, Sal Valentino had earlier been with Beau Brummels and later formed Valentino which included Blakely and Phillips; Lydia Phillips had earlier played with Indian Puddin' And Pipe; Pete Sears joined from Copperhead and later played for Jefferson Starship, Silver Metre and Price, Godula and Lerois were all previously in Together) they were also featured on the closing days of the Fillmore LP. They were still recording albums, too, in the early eighties.
    Very much a hippie outfit, they may be of interest to readers. ~ (Vernon Joynson / Max Waller)
    01. Looking For You 4:33
    02. Great Change Since I've Been Born 3:05
    03. Rainy Day In June 2:39
    04. Added Attraction (Come And See Me) 3:04
    05. Dreaming Man 4:46
    06. Stroke Stand 4:02
    07. Bad News 3:17
    08. Bad News 3:39
    09. Colonel Chicken Fry 4:20
    10. Brand New Start 3:57
    Stoneground ~ 1971 ~ Stoneground inner

    TIM BARNES - gtr, vcls
    LUTHER BILDT - vcls, gtr
    JOHN BLAKELY - gtr, bs
    MICHAEL MAU - drms

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3262 | Rating: 5.0/2

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads