R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » July » 24 » the 13th Floor Elevators ~ Headstone: The Contact Sessions
    the 13th Floor Elevators ~ Headstone: The Contact Sessions
    the 13th Floor Elevators ~ Headstone: The Contact Sessions
    genre: psych, garage
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 50'52"  size: 290 mb
    misc.: boxset's version

    On one hand, the Texas group the 13th Floor Elevators were like the hundreds of other garage bands from the 1960s, and on the other hand, of course, they weren't. There was that constant electric jug sound from Tommy Hall running through everything the band recorded, for one, and with Roky Erickson's edgy, aggressive vocal style poured in over the top, the Elevators always sounded like they were about to become completely unhinged, if indeed they weren't already. The group, thanks to label mishandling and the oppressive Texas drug laws, never really got a chance to truly evolve past that initial chaotic sound, but their legacy remains a strong one. The Elevators were an outlaw band before that concept became merely a marketing strategy. This set collects the mono tracks for what would have been the group's first album, Headstone, had it actually been released (it was recorded for Gordon Bynum's Contact Records), which it wasn't. Things are rounded off with a handful of the Headstone sides mixed for stereo, and four hit-or-miss live performances recorded at La Maison in Houston in the summer of 1966. Highlights include the single version of Erickson's signature garage classic "You're Gonna Miss Me," a wacky take on Buddy Holly's "I'm Gonna Love You Too" (imagine Holly with an electric jug player), and a credible live version of the Animals' "We've Gotta Get Outta This Place." ~ Steve Leggett

    Import pressing of this collection of early recordings from the legendary American Psych rockers. The Contact Sessions were the first studio recordings by The 13th Floor Elevators, recorded in Texas in January and February 1966, which never saw the light of day in those heady drug-filled days. This release consists of mono versions of the 11 original tracks plus four remastered stereo alternative takes. In addition to the studio material, this package includes four previously unreleased live recordings from La Maison in 1966, including 'We've Gotta Get Out Of This Place' and two other previously unreleased tracks. The recordings were remastered and remixed in 2007 by the original the 13th floor elevators producer Walt Andrus.

    01. You're Gonna Miss Me (single version) 2:31
    02. Tried to Hide (single version) 2:23
    03. Everybody Needs Somebody to Love 3:44
    04. Take That Girl (You Gotta Take That Girl) 3:00
    05. You Can't Hurt Me Anymore 3:43
    06. I'm Gonna Love You Too 1:57
    07. Monkey Island 2:26
    08. Roller Coaster 3:47
    09. Now I'm Home (Splash 1) 3:41
    10. Where Am I? (Thru the Rhythm) 3:15
    11. Fire Engine 2:16
    12. You Can't Hurt Me Anymore (take 1, backing track) 3:09
    13. Fire Engine (take 8) 2:37
    14. You're Gonna Miss Me (take 6) 2:43
    15. Tried to Hide (take 7) 2:47
    16. I'm Gonna Love You Too (single version) 1:58
    17. All Night Long (The Bad Seeds) 2:21
    18. You're Gonna Miss Me (take 6, vocal track only) 2:35

    Bass - Benny Thurman
    Drums - John Ike Walton
    Guitar [Lead] - Stacy Sutherland
    Jug [Amplified], Backing Vocals - Tommy Hall
    Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar, Harmonica - Roky Erickson

    Tracks 1, 2, 14 & 15 were recorded January 3rd 1966 at Andrus Studio, Houston, Texas.
    Tracks 3-13 were recorded circa February 1966 at Andrus Studio, Houston, Texas.
    Tracks 16-19 were recorded live at La Maision, Houston, Texas from January 1966 to June 1966.
    Digitally archived in July 2003 at Wire Studios, Austin, Texas.
    Tracks 1-15 were remixed and remastered in November 2007 at Wire Studios, Austin, Texas.
    Tracks 16-19 were remastered in July 2009 at Sound Performance, London.

    Recorded By [Tracks 15 -19] - James Frost (4)
    Remastered By [Tracks 1-15] - Walt Andrus
    Remastered By [Tracks 15-19] - Andrew Thompson
    Research, Reissue Producer, Compiled By, Remastered By [Tracks 16-19] - Paul Drummond

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3981 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads