R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » November » 30 » the Apple Pie Motherhood Band ~ 1969 ~ Apple Pie
    the Apple Pie Motherhood Band ~ 1969 ~ Apple Pie
    the Apple Pie Motherhood Band ~ 1969 ~ Apple Piegenre: psych, blues
    state: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, size: 225 mb)
    time: 34'42"

    Apple Pie Motherhood Band was an American psychedelic rock band formed in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1967. One of the several groups involved in the "Bosstown Sound", a commercial ploy designed to compete with the San Francisco Sound, the band developed a blend of psychedelia, blues rock, and hard rock, which was exemplified and expanded upon on their two albums.
    The band originated from the garage rock outfit, C. C. and the Chasers, who became the house band at the Unicorn Coffeehouse in Boston, and released an obscure single, "Put the Clock Back on the Wall". The first line-up consisted of Ted Demos (guitar), Joe Castagno (rhythm guitar), Richard Barnaby (bass guitar), Jeff Labes (keyboards), and Jack Bruno (drums), all of whom shared vocals duties. After relocating, briefly, in 1965, to New York City the group adopted the moniker, Sacred Mushroom, and dwelled in psychedelic music. They, again, became a house band, this time for the Bitter End Cafe. The band recruited female singer Anne Tarzay, who Labes described as "a powerhouse, kind of a Janis Joplin with a sweeter voice, but sultry dynamic energy." Her connections in the music industry were responsible for finding their manager Marv Lagunoff and the group's signing to a record label. As a deal with Atlantic Records was pending, the name Sacred Mushroom was deemed too drug-orientated, and, after a humorous remark by Demos, the band was prompted to change it to Apple Pie Motherhood Band in 1967.

    The group recorded their first single, "Long Live Apple Pie", with Felix Pappalardi, who is perhaps best known for his work with the psychedelic rock band, Cream. Though the single did not break the national charts, it did receive extensive airplay by DJ Dick Summer on Boston's WBZ Radio, as well as several alternative music stations just beginning to emerge across the US. The band proceeded to record their debut album, which, in one instance, was interrupted by Tarzay's friend, Jimi Hendrix, who taught and played with the band in jam sessions. However, Tarzay soon departed the band, and was replaced by Marilyn Lundquist, who performed backing vocals on her co-written composition, "Ice", and a baroque version of David Blue's song, "I'd Like to Know". In some way, all the band members had a share in the writing credits, but Labes composed the majority of the original material, which he amplifies, "I had been writing songs for several years at that point, and found it easy to create appropriate songs for the band. We sounded more like the energy of an East Coast version of what was up in San Francisco at that time." The resulting album, The Apple Pie Motherhood Band, was released in 1968, and mixed extended instrumentals, heavy blues rock, influences of psychedelia and vocal harmonies, and became somewhat of an underground favorite in Boston.
    All the while, the group experienced a set of line-up changes, first with Lundquist leaving and Castagno departing, citing an inability to travel for gigs. The band recruited singer Bruce Paine, along with guitarist Michael Sorafine and harmonica player Adam Myers. Paine previously worked as a folk singer, but, after contractual issues with RCA Records' developement of his own album, he was encouraged to join the band. Sorafine and Myers were added in Chicago while the group was performing at the Rush Club, with the latter of the two introducing the members to LSD. When it came time for the group to record for their second album, Apple Pie, the LSD was negatively affecting the sessions, and, consequently, there was a lack of written material. Though Labes composed the majority of original songs, he only penned one track, "Super Music Man", with the rest, more or less, evenly formulated from the other band members. It was more derived in psychedelic rock, but still contained R&B-derived cover versions of "I Just Want to Make Love to You", "Get Ready", and "Brown Eyed Handsome Man". However, Apple Pie's 1969 release was delayed, after their manager disagreed with the group's relocation to a communal farm in Vermont, and, as a result, the band disbanded in the summer of that year to play in the counterculture musical production, Hair

    01. Orangutang 7:32
    02. I Just Want To Make Love To You 4:08
    03. Brown Eyed Handsome Man 3:21
    04. Grandmother Hooker 3:06
    05. Get Ready 4:27
    06. Super Music Man 4:20
    07. Gypsy 3:26
    08. He Turned You On 4:23

    Bass, Flute [Bamboo] – Dick Barnaby
    Drums – Jack Bruno
    Guitar [Guitars], Vocals – Ted Demos
    Guitar, Vocals – Michael Sorafine
    Harmonica, Vocals – Adam Myers
    Keyboards – Jef Labes
    Vocals – Bruce Paine

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1420 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads