R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » February » 5 » the Box Tops ~ 1968a ~ Cry Like A Baby
    the Box Tops ~ 1968a ~ Cry Like A Baby
    the Box Tops ~ 1968a ~ Cry Like A Baby

    genre: pop

    country: us

    quality : lossless  (flac tracks, cue, log, covers)

    time: 45'15" size: 230 mb


    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:

    From Memphis and originally known as The Devilles, The Box Tops got the hit of the Summer of 1967 with The Letter, written by Wayne Carson Thompson and masterfully produced by Dan Penn, the famous songwriter. Their singer, Alex Chilton, was only 16 when it was recorded and Bill Cunningham was the brother of B.B. Cunningham from The Hombres. The line-up of the group was quite unstable, Chilton being the only continuous member and several tracks were in fact recorded by the American Recording Studios house band (Cogbill, Spreen, Leech, Moman...).

    Very much a singles band, their albums are of minor interest but always contained some successful hits. The singles were released on Mala, a sub-label of Bell.

    When the group broke up, Alex Chilton went on to form Big Star, which was a total commercial failure at the time but is now regarded as one of the first and finest examples of power pop. Chilton went solo and had a long, prolific and extremely chaotic career of singer, songwriter and producer (he notably produced the first Cramps album).

    The Box Tops reformed in 1997 and recorded a live CD released in France by Last Call.

    Tom Boggs also played with Tommy Burk and The Counts. ~ (Stephane Rebeschini)

    01. "Cry Like A Baby (Penn-Oldham)" 2:35
    02. "Deep In Kentucky (Davidson)" 2:12
    03. "I'm The One For You (Thomas-Jones)" 3:07
    04. "Weeping Analeah (Folger-Newbury)" 3:05
    05. "Every Time (Penn-Oldham)" 2:36
    06. "Fields Of Clover (Penn-Oldham)" 2:53
    07. "Trouble With Sam (Penn)" 2:17
    08. "Lost (James-Spreen)" 2:30
    09. "Good Morning Dear (Newbury)" 3:41
    10. "727 (Penn-Oldham)" 2:19
    11. "You Keep Me Hanging On (Holland-Dozier-Holland)" 3:45

    12. "Cry Like A Baby (Single Version) (Penn-Oldham)" 2:35
    13. "The Door You Closed To Me (Penn-Oldham)" 2:42
    14. "You Keep Tightening Up On Me (Thompson)" 2:55
    15. "Come On Honey (Chilton)" 3:27
    16. "Take Me To Your Heart (Mcknight)" 2:36


    TOM BOGGS drms


    BILL CUNNINGHAM keyb'ds, bs

    JOHN EVANS gtr, keyb'ds



    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2757 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads