R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 30 » the Electric Flag - 1983 - Groovin' is Easy
    the Electric Flag - 1983 - Groovin' is Easy
    the Electric Flag - 1983 - Groovin' is Easygenre: blues
    country: us
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, covers)
    time: 40'52"
    size: 206 mb

    Fuzz Acid & Flowes:

    This short-lived but successful band certainly deserve a mention. They were formed in 1967 by Mike Bloomfield after he'd left The Butterfield Blues Band and were full of talent, particularly black soul drummer Buddy Miles, who'd done session work with Otis Redding and Wilson Pickett, Chicago singer-composer Nick Gravenites and keyboardist Goldberg, who'd previously played with Steve Miller. They played a combination of soul and Chicago blues which was flavoured with a taint of psychedelia and liberal use of flashy electronics, which were ideally suited to the times. They were also one of the first bands to use a brass section. Their first break was an extremely well received performance at the Monterey Festival in 1967. To some degree their appearance in the Peter Fonda/Roger Corman movie 'The Trip' consolidated their growing reputation. Collectors of psychedelia may be interested in this largely instrumental album, which included tracks like Joint Passing and Psych Soap, which were evocative of the growing psychedelic culture. The Peter's Trip 45 was also taken from the album.

    Their first album proper, A Long Time Comin', was basically blues-rock with an occasional hint of psychedelia. It got to No. 31 in the U.S. album charts and was certainly stronger than their next effort, The Electric Flag, which despite climbing to no. 76, failed to mask the internal turmoil that hard drug abuse and internal stresses had created and which led to their disintegration in 1969. They did reunite in a studio project with Mama Cass shortly after, which was completed then shelved.

    In 1974 the band made a reunion album with Roger Troy replacing Harvey Brooks on bass; but the sparkle had deserted their music and the end result was patchy and can't be recommended.

    After their split in 1969 Buddy Miles went on to form The Buddy Miles Express, Barry Goldberg made several solo albums and Nick Gravenites worked for Big Brother and The Holding Company. In 1975 Bloomfield and Goldberg were instrumental in forming KGB, one of the most disastrous supergroups ever.

    1974 Outtakes:
    01. Spotlight 3:48
    02. I Was Robbed Last Night 4:43
    03. I Found Out 3:12
    04. Never Be Lonely Again 3:36
    05. Losing Game 3:21

    1968 San Francisco Live:
    06. My Baby Wants To Test Me 8:20
    07. I Should Have Left Her 4:13
    08. You Don't Realise 5:14
    09. Groovin' Is Easy 4:24

    The Electric Flag:
    Michael Bloomfield, guitars
    Harvey Brooks, bass
    Nick Gravenites, vocal, percussion
    Sivuca, guitar, percussion
    Barry Goldberg, keyboards
    Herbie Rich, keyboards, tenor sax
    Mike Fonfara, keyboards
    Buddy Miles, drums, percussion
    Peter Strazza, tenor sax
    Marcus Doubleday, trumpet
    Richie Havens, sitar
    Paul Berver, moog synthesizer

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2444 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads