R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » August » 9 » the Gods ~ 1969 ~ To Samuel A Son
    the Gods ~ 1969 ~ To Samuel A Son
    the Gods ~ 1969 ~ To Samuel A Songenre: heavy psych
    country: uk
    audio: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 47'35" size: 274 mb

    Tapestry of Delights:
    Not to be confused with the American group of the same name, this Gods were formed in Hatfield in 1965 by Mick Taylor and the Glasscock brothers (all ex-Juniors). Taylor was a great John Mayall fan and left to join his Bluesbreakers in the Summer of 1967. He left behind a faltering blues band.
    Line-up 'B' sought to revive their fortunes on the club/college circuit and relocating to London, secured a residency at the Marquee. The problem was that Greg Lake was too talented for the background role the rest of the band had in mind for him and in the Summer of 1968 he split to join King Crimson. The band had to re-group again but line-up 'C', with John Glasscock back in the fold, recorded a couple of interesting progressive rock albums and a few 45s. Of these Hey! Bulldog, the Beatles track, is their best known.
    Their Genesis album is also certainly worth checking out, consisting as it does of an imaginative amalgam of psychedelia and progressive rock. Its better tracks like Towards The Skies and Time And Eternity are full of heavy ploughing Hammond organ and distorted guitar riffs and Ken Hensley's unique and rather dramatic vocals add a further dimension. The recent Repertoire reissues also includes bonus cuts.
    The Best Of The Gods compilation is another good way to access their material which is for the most part pretty typical late sixties pop/rock, epitomised by songs like Radio Show and Yes I Cry. There are shades of Vanilla Fudge on their cover of West Side Story extract Maria but only on a few tracks like Candlelight and Real Love Guaranteed is there an inkling of the heavier sound Hensley and Kerslake would propagate in their next venture, Uriah Heep.
    Curiously it appears that the Glasscock brothers, Konas, Hensley and Kerslake were also responsible for the Head Machine album, recorded under pseudonyms in 1970. This too, is worth hearing.  ~ (Vernon Joynson/Martin Dench)

    01. To Samuel A Son 3:30
    02. Eight O'Clock In The Morning 3:16
    03. He's Growing 2:25
    04. Sticking Wings On Flies 2:39
    05. Lady Lady 3:19
    06. Penny Dear 2:35
    07. Long Time, Sad Time, Bad Time 3:12
    08. Five To Three 3:00
    09. Autumn 3:12
    10. Yes I Cry 2:42
    11. Groozy 3:41
    12. Momma I Need 3:58
    13. Candlelight 2:34
    14. Lovely Anita 3:32

    15. Maria 3:58

    JOHN GLASSCOCK    bs, vcls
    KEN HENSLEY    keyb'ds, gtr, vcls, perc
    JOE KONAS    gtr, vcls
    LEE KERSLAKE    drms

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 832 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads