R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » August » 31 » the Greatest Show On Earth ~ 1970 ~ Horizons
    the Greatest Show On Earth ~ 1970 ~ Horizons
    the Greatest Show On Earth ~ 1970 ~ Horizons
    genre: prog, eclectic
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 47'33"  size: 337 mb
    misc.: 2006
    Tapestry of Delights: 
    Formed in 1968 as a soul band with a black vocalist called Ozzie Lane. However, when he headed back to the US and was replaced by Colin Horton-Jennings the band veered towards progressive rock. They were far more popular on the Continent than over here. Indeed, Real Cool World was quite a big hit in some European countries. Their two 1970 albums for Harvest are now minor collectables. Horizons was a consistent effort which appeared in one of the most distinctive Hipgnosis sleeves. The lengthy title track took up much of side two, but the finest moment was the finale, Again And Again, which resurfaced on the Picnic sampler.
    The Going's Easy was much jazzier and not as good as the debut. A less characteristic track, Magic Woman Touch, was covered as a single by The Hollies in 1972 and later released as a 45 by Harvest in 1977, two years after they'd put out a double compilation of the band's material.
    After they split up in 1971 Norman Watt-Roy joined Glencoe and was later in Loving Awareness. Garth Watt-Roy played with Fuzzy Duck, East Of Eden, Marmalade, Bonnie Tyler and Paul Young. Horton-Jennings joined Taggett and Streetwalkers, Deacon was later in Vinegar Joe and Darts. Hanson ended up with Graham Parker. The other three quit the music scene.

    01. Sunflower Morning 4:57
    02. Angelina 4:06
    03. Skylight Man 4:32
    04. Day Of The Lady 4:10
    05. Real Cool World 4:49
    06. I Fought For Love 4:24
    07. Horizons 13:58
    08. Again And Again 4:03
    09. Real Cool World (single edit) 2:34

    Colin Horton-Jennings / vocals, flute, guitar, percussion
    Garth Watt-Roy / vocals, guitar
    Norman Watt-Roy / vocals, bass
    Mick Deacon / keyboards
    Ron Prudence / drums, congas
    Dick Hanson / horns
    Tex Phillpots / saxophone
    Ian Aitcheson / woodwinds

    oe: highly recommended...
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3776 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads