R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » December » 1 » the McCoys ~ 1965 ~ Hang On Sloopy + 1966 ~ You Make Me Feel So Good
    the McCoys ~ 1965 ~ Hang On Sloopy + 1966 ~ You Make Me Feel So Good
    the McCoys ~ 1965 ~ Hang On Sloopy + 1966 ~ You Make Me Feel So Good
    genre: beat
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:17'41" size: 432 mb
    misc.: 1992
    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    The McCoys formed as a trio in 1962 while the Zehringer brothers and Dennis Kelly were at high school in Fort Recovery, Indiana. They took their name from the Ventures 1960 rock instrumental 'B' side, The McCoy. However, in those early days they were also known as Rick and The Raiders and The Rick Z Combo. One 45, You Know That I Love You/What Can I Do (Sonic 76234) was released under the Rick and The Raiders name. Soon after keyboardist Ronnie Brandon was added to the original trio while Kelly left to go to college and was replaced by 17 year-old Randy Hobbs.
    In July 1965 they signed to New York's Bang Records after opening for The Strangeloves at a gig in Dayton, Ohio. The Strangeloves (aka NYC record producers Feldman, Gottehrer, and Goldstein) had just cut a version of a little-known Bert Berns song My Girl Sloopy, which had been originally recorded by The Vibrations, and were performing it on tour to extremely positive audience response. Concerned however that former tour-mates, The Dave Clark Five, were planning to record their own version of the song, and hesitant to release an immediate followup to their present hit, I Want Candy, they decided to get Rick and The Raiders (now renamed The Real McCoys and then The McCoys) to record the number. Using the original Strangelove tracks, they overdubbed vocals from the McCoys and a guitar solo by Rick and rush-released the single to immediate success and the No. 1 spot on the U.S. charts.

    In September they recorded their first album and their second single, a revival of Peggy Lee's 1958 hit Fever, made No. 7 in the U.S. and No. 44 in the U.K. Their debut album Hang On Sloopy also made No. 44 in the U.S. Album Charts. Meanwhile Bobby Petersen took over keyboard duties from Ronnie Brandon. Further minor hit singles followed in the US, although they enjoyed no further chart success in the UK. Initially they were still at school in Indiana because their parents forbade them to tour despite numerous offers. Finally they were persuaded by the Strangeloves to go on tour in the late spring of 1966 with ex-Token (of Lion Sleeps Tonight fame) Eddie Rabkin (who was a teacher) hired as their tutor. A few months later they toured with The Rolling Stones and began to jettison their image of youthful naivete with the psychedelic single Don't Worry Mother (Your Son's Heart Is Pure) in which they gave a tongue in cheek reassurance to their parents. However it fared disappointingly in terms of sales and the band returned briefly to their previous R&B style with their follow-up I Got To Go Back. A further psychedelic single Beat The Clock was issued to only minor success and the McCoys ended their association with Feldman, Gottehrer, and Goldstein and the ailing Bang records.
    In 1968 in search ot more recording freedom they signed to Mercury Records and produced Infinite McCoys which was really their psychedelic album and the prime reason for their inclusion in this book. Their 45 Jesse Brady briefly entered the U.S. Charts at No. 98 but their next LP, Human Ball failed to chart. Both albums contain an eclectic (and beautifully played) mix of rock, jazz, blues, and psychedelia and are a far cry from the pure pop of their early releases.
    In 1969 they became the house-band at Steve Paul's Scene Club in New York. Steve Paul became their manager and linked them with albino guitarist Johnny Winter who he also managed. By now Bobby Peterson had left the group, Rick Zehringer had changed his surname to Derringer and produced the LP Johnny Winter And... on which the remaining McCoys were the backing group. It made No. 154 in the U.S. and No. 29 in the U.K.. This was effectively The McCoys' last venture. Rick then joined Edgar Winter's White Trash and went on to record eight solo albums. He was also an in-demand session guitarist. ~ (Vernon Joynson/Stephane Rebeschini/Lloyd Peasley)

    01. "Meet The McCoys" 1:41
    02. "Hang On Sloopy" 3:03
    03. "Fever" 2:51
    04. "Sorrow" 2:05
    05. "If You Tell A LIe" 2:00
    06. "I Don't Mind" 2:40
    07. "Stubborn Kind Of Fellow" 2:20
    08. "I Can't Help Falling In Love" 2:09
    09. "All I Really Want To Do" 1:58
    10. "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag" 2:03
    11. "I Can't Explain It" 2:31
    12. "High Heel Sneakers" 3:07
    13. "Stormy Monday Blues" 4:13
    14. "Say Those Magic Words" 2:56
    15. "Everyday I Have To Cry" 2:31
    16. "(You Make Me Feel) So Good" 2:44
    17. "The Dynamite" 2:15
    18. "Drive My Car" 2:25
    19. "Mr. Summer" 2:49
    20. "Stagger Lee" 2:38
    21. "Sweets For My Sweet" 2:45
    22. "Smokey Joe's Cafe" 2:21
    23. "Little People" 2:20
    24. "Runaway" 3:01
    25. "C'mon Let's Go" 2:42
    26. "Up And Down" 2:37
    27. "Don't Worry Mother Your Son's Heart Is Pure" 3:17
    28. "Ko-Ko" 2:18
    29. "I Got To Go Back" 2:44
    30. "C'mon Let's Go (7 Minute Mix)" 2:39


    RONNIE BRANDON keyb'ds
    BOBBY PETERSON keyb'ds
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3342 | Rating: 4.5/2

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads