R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » December » 28 » the Plastic Penny ~ 1968 ~ Two Sides Of A Penny
    the Plastic Penny ~ 1968 ~ Two Sides Of A Penny
    the Plastic Penny ~ 1968 ~ Two Sides Of A Pennygenre: psych pop
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, cover, size: 236 mb)
    time: 39'08"

    Plastic Penny was a UK 1960s pop band, formed in November 1967 before splitting up in August 1968. The group had one hit single, early in 1968, with the song "Everything I Am". Most of the members went on to greater fame with other bands or in session work.
    Most of the material was psychedelic pop, with leanings towards a prog rock sound on some of the band's album tracks. The majority of the material was written by three of the band members, Brian Keith, Paul Raymond and Tony Murray. Keith later left the band leaving it a quartet and Raymond took over vocal duties. Plastic Penny's output was released on the Page One Records label. The band's swansong was appearing at the first Isle of Wight Festival, held on 31 August 1968.
    "Everything I Am" reached a high of number six in the UK Singles Chart. The song, enhanced with a string arrangement, was a slow ballad version of a song originally recorded by the Box Tops. It was written by Spooner Oldham and Dan Penn.
    Mick Grabham (then billed as Mick Graham) moved on to play with Cochise and then Procol Harum. Keith later became the lead vocalist with The Congregation, who share the "one-hit wonder" tag with Plastic Penny. Raymond replaced Christine Perfect in Chicken Shack and later played several spells with the long-lived rock band, UFO. Nigel Olsson became an in-demand session musician, most notably drumming on much of Elton John's early work and back with him from 2001. He also worked with the Spencer Davis Group, Uriah Heep, Kiki Dee, Neil Sedaka, Rod Stewart and Leo Sayer.
    The group's third and final album, Heads I Win, Tails You Lose was a collage of the band's more obscure recordings, issued after the group had disbanded.

    01. Everything I Am 2:29
    02. Wake Me Up 3:09
    03. Never My Love 2:24
    04. Genevieve 2:08
    05. No Pleasure Without Pain My Love 2:43
    06. So Much Older Now 2:37
    07. Mrs. Grundy 5:15
    08. Take Me Back 2:21
    09. I Want You 3:25
    10. It's A Good Thing 2:48
    11. Strawberry Fields Forever 4:25

    12. Nobody Knows It 2:32
    13. Happy Just To Be With You 2:53

    Brian Keith (born Brian O'Shea, 22 September 1942, Port Glasgow, West Renfrewshire, Scotland) - Vocalist[5]
    Paul Raymond (born Paul Martin Raymond, 16 November 1945, St Albans, Hertfordshire) - Keyboardist / Guitarist
    Mick Graham (born Michael Grabham, 22 January 1948, Sunderland, County Durham) - Guitarist
    Nigel Olsson (born 10 February 1949, Wallasey, Cheshire) - Drummer
    Tony Murray (born Anthony Murray, 26 April 1943, Dublin, County Dublin, Republic of Ireland) - Bassist

    read also: the Plastic Penny ~ 1969 ~ Currency
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1043 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads