R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » January » 13 » the Rascals ~ 1969b ~ See
    the Rascals ~ 1969b ~ See
    the Rascals ~ 1969b ~ Seegenre: rock, white soul
    state: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, 274 mb)
    time: 42'14"

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    Arguably a marginal case for inclusion here since they are really remembered for playing a crowd-pulling brand of rock'n'roll and R&B. They came together in New York in early 1965 when Cavaliere, Brigati and Cornish all left Joey Dee's Starlighters at the same time. They played their first gig at the Choo Choo Club in Garfield, New Jersey. Their music was soul-based, danceable and immediate and after their debut single, I Ain't Gonna Eat My Heart Out Anymore met with some initial success, the follow-up Good Lovin' made No. 1 and set them on the road to further success. They were the first white rock act to be signed by Atlantic and their music had a wide appeal to both black and white audiences. Groovin', their second No. 1 and possibly their magnum opus, marked a definite change of style. Depicting a long, ecstatic afternoon in the sun it superbly captured the vibes of the Summer of 1967 and is of far more relevance to this book than what had gone before. Other notable slices of superb pop-rock were How Can l Be Sure?, A Girl Like You and It's Wonderful, which made use of sound effects. After the last mentioned the 'Young' was omitted from their title and they increasingly veered towards a sort of good vibe jazzy rock. People Got To Be Free gave them their third and final U.S. No. 1 after which they underwent a changed line-up (from 'A' to 'B') and changed labels to Columbia. Among the newcomers was Buzzy Feiten who'd previously played with Paul Butterfield.
    The new line-up cut two albums which aroused some interest but little excitement, and they disbanded in 1972. Felix Cavaliere later went solo recording two critically acclaimed if commercially unsuccessful albums for Bearsville. Robert Popwell joined The Crusaders in 1976 and Cornish and Danelli fronted Bulldog and Fotomaker.
    Clearly an extremely successful act commercially. They enjoyed three No. 1 45s and three other Top Ten hits. Their Greatest Hits album topped the U.S. Album Charts. Groovin', Once Upon A Dream, Collections, The Young Rascals and Freedom Suite all made the Top Twenty, peaking at Nos 5, 9, 14, 15 and 17 respectively. Even their later albums made some impression on the charts. ~ (Vernon Joynson / Pierangelo Valenti / Stephane Rebeschini)

    01. See 5:04
    02. I'd Like To Take You Home 2:38
    03. Remember Me 2:12
    04. I'm Blue 3:52
    05. Stop And Think 4:11
    06. Temptation's 'Bout To Get Me 3:31
    07. Nubia 3:44
    08. Carry Me Back 2:53
    09. Away Away 3:27
    10. Real Thing 2:45
    11. Death's Reply 4:19
    12. Hold On 3:37

    Felix Cavaliere – organ, piano, lead vocals, backing vocals
    Eddie Brigati – percussion, lead vocals, backing vocals
    Gene Cornish – guitar, lead vocals, backing vocals
    Dino Danelli – drums

    Additional musicians:
    Chuck Rainey – bass
    Ron Carter – bass ("Nubia," "Carry Me Back")
    Hubert Laws – flute
    Danny Labbate – soprano sax
    Joe Bushkin – piano ("Carry Me Back")

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 842 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads