R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » February » 10 » the Rising Storm ~ 1967 ~ Calm Before
    the Rising Storm ~ 1967 ~ Calm Before
    the Rising Storm ~ 1967 ~ Calm Beforegenre: rock, psych
    state: us
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, covers, 391 mb)
    time: 1:17'02"

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    The album contains fine versions of hard-rockers Don't Look Back, In The Midnight Hour and Baby Please Don't Go, alongside Arthur Lee's A Message To Pretty and a number of self-penned compositions, such as the driving I'm Comin Home and slow, sensitive numbers like Frozen Laughter and The Rain Falls Down.
    Alive Again At Andover was a reunion concert recording and is surprisingly good. Brought back together for the 15th Reunion of Andovers' Class of '67 ten of their gymnasium gig numbers are captured plus a version of Baby Please Don't Go from their first reunion stint at the Flowermarket Cafe, Boston in October '81. The original line-up is intact bar Todd Cohen whose place is filled by the ubiquitous Andy Paley. Unlike other reunion LPs which cash in on past glories this one stands up well on its own and, although these guys had done nothing in the music sphere since graduation, the spirit and fun of those heady days is reincarnated.

    In 1999, the original sextet again minus Todd Cohen, but with Aram Heller (Mr. Stanton Park) bounding into the bassist role, had the chance to appear on the same bill as Boston legends The Lost and The Remains. The latter were one of the 'Storm's inspirations of course, as their cover of Don't Look Back testifies. Naturally they grabbed the opportunity with aplomb, indeed they played for free.
    Despite some pre-gig nerves they proved to be the perfect openers of this historic event on Saturday 20th March at the Paradise Club in Beantown and they set the tone for what turned out to be a magical and memorable evening. Opening with their own I'm Coming Home, the half-hour set comprised many of the upbeat numbers from their LP. The Rockin' Ramrods' Bright Lit Blue Skies, Signed T.T. and Baby Please Don't Go went down very well - another original She Loved Me with its Charlie Rockwell Hammond organ solo and great vocal arrangements was outstanding. It was a performance full of fun, vibrance and enthusiasm which quickly infected and was appreciated by the audience. Having played their part, the buoyant members joined the 600+ throng with as much eagerness to await the appearances of The Lost and The Remains. ~ (Max Waller / Vernon Joynson)

    01. Don't Look Back 2:50
    02. To L.N. / Who Doesn't Know 3:17
    03. I'm Coming Home 2:50
    04. A Message To Pretty 3:30
    05. In The Midnight Hour 3:55
    06. Frozen Laughter 3:10
    07. She Loved Me 3:45
    08. Mr. Wind 3:05
    09. Big Boss Man 3:03
    10. Bright Lit Blue Skies 2:33
    11. The Rain Falls Down 3:26
    12. Baby Please Don't Go 2:52

    Alive Again at Andover:
    13. Slow Down 3:31
    14. I'm Crying 4:34
    15. Signed D.C. 3:28
    16. I'm Coming Home 3:15
    17. A Message To Pretty 3:55
    18. In The Midnight Hour 3:01
    19. My Little Red Book 2:57
    20. Catch The Wind / The Singer Not The Song 3:41
    21. We Gotta Get Outta This Place 3:44
    22. Time Won't Let Me / Respectable 6:40

    BOB COHEN ld gtr
    TOM SCHEFT drms, bongos, tamb
    TONY THOMPSON rhythm gtr, vcls
    RICH WEINBERG vcls, hrmnca, tamb, cowbell

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 661 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads