R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 25 » the Stillroven - 1996 - Cast thy Burden Upon
    the Stillroven - 1996 - Cast thy Burden Upon
    the Stillroven - 1996 - Cast thy Burden UponStyle: garage
    Country: us
    Audio: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers)
    time: 50:13 Size: 210 mb
    Issue: Sundazed

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    Formed in 1965 as The Syndicate in the Minneapolis suburb of Robbinsdale, Minnesota, they changed their name to The Stillroven in early 1966 when rhythm guitarist Dan Kane replaced Mark Moorhead from The Syndicate's earlier line-up.
    The Falcon promo, She's My Woman/(I'm Not Your) Stepping Stone, only had a limited pressing of 50 copies, and like many of their singles is very sought-after. The superb Little Picture Playhouse/Cast Thy Burden Upon The Stone 45 features pure Anglophile pop on the 'A' side with its quaint theatrical metaphors and piano-based arrangement. The track was originally recorded by U.K. outfit Simon Dupree and The Big Sound and together with the flip, where John Howarth's electric sitar playing adds that hallucinogenic flavour, is arguably their creative zenith.
    Following this 45, their manager Peter May moved to Tucson, Arizona, although he still continued his manager / producer role from a distance. More damaging was the departure of talented vocalist Phil Larkin and Dave Berget (although he later rejoined the band). In June 1968, they cut a fourth single, Come In The Morning/Necessary Person. The 'A' side was a Moby Grape cover, but May decided shortly after its release to pull the 'A' side and replace it with a more convincing rendition of The Small Faces' Tell Me Have You Ever Seen Me. By now Dave Berget had rejoined to provide the lead vocal on the song. Only 100 copies of Come In The Morning are thought to have left the factory, making it another highly collectable 45. The flip of both versions of this 45 was a pleasant Mike O'Gara original.

    The Cast Thy Burden Upon The Stillroven retrospective features:- And My Baby's Gone, an obscure early Moody Blues track; Have You Got A Penny, a nice pop number; Cheating, a raw Animals' cover; Little Games, a failed 1967 Yardbirds' single and concludes with a slice of improvised psychedelia aptly named Freakout.
    In late 1968, they recorded an entire album for A&M Records which was never released... Sundazed have also promised to unearth that too! ~ 
    Vernon Joynson / Max Waller)

    01. I'm Not Your Stepping Stone 2:29
    02. She's My Woman 2:45
    03. Hey Joe 2:39
    04. Sunny Day 2:24
    05. And My Baby's Gone 2:13
    06. Little Picture Playhouse 2:05
    07. Cast Thy Burden Upon The Stone 2:46
    08. Tell Me Have You Ever Seen Me 2:27
    09. Have You Got A Penny 2:38
    10. Cheating 2:51
    11. Little Games 2:27
    12. Love Is A Beautiful Thing 2:37
    13. Under My Thumb 2:53
    14. Signed D.C. 2:48
    15. Come In The Morning 2:10
    16. Necessary Person 2:27
    17. Tell Me Have You Ever Seen Me (vers. 2) 2:32
    18. Freakout 7:01

    in various times:
    PHIL BERDAHL - drms
    DAVE DEAN - keyb'ds
    JOHN HOWARTH - ld gtr
    DAN KANE - gtr
    DAVE BERGET - bs
    JIM LARKIN - gtr
    MIKE O'GARA - gtr
    DAVE RIVKIN - ld gtr

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2127 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads