R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » March » 22 » Toto Torquati ~ 1973 ~ Gli occhi di un bambino
    Toto Torquati ~ 1973 ~ Gli occhi di un bambino
    genre: prog
    state: italy
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers) 
    time: 42:22 size: 285 mb

    An excellent keyboardist, blind from his birth, Antonio "Toto" Torquati had a very promising career as a session musician, first in the jazz circuit, playing with the likes of Bill Coleman, Billy Smith, Gato Barbieri, Earl Hines, Toots Thielemans and Joe Morello, and subsequently in the pop field, playing with Claudio Baglioni, Lucio Dalla, Gianni Morandi, Mina, and later in Gepy & Gepy group (the nickname of Giampiero Scalamoglia, a prolific composer during the 70's, that also sang in the Gli occhi di un bambino album).
    A little-known first solo album appeared in 1972, simply titled with his real name Antonio Torquati; this was a ten-track instrumental moog and keyboards album including cover versions of 60's hits, like Oh! Happy day or Aquarius. 
    A second one, Gli occhi di un bambino came out on RCA in 1973 and went totally unnoticed at the time, being discovered by many after the recent Akarma reissue. Described by some dealers as a good example of symphonic prog, the album is in fact heavily orchestrated and mainly falls into the pop field, but it contains some classical and light progressive elements.
    Torquati has totally disappeared as a solo artist after a commercial single in 1977, Tenero al cioccolato (with which he won the Disco Mare contest), but he kept collaborating with many popular artists and still has a recording studio in Rome.
    His return to a record release was in 2007 with a new CD entitled Vita, amore e musica.

    01. La terra che nessuno conosce 2:37
    02. Il mattino dopo 2:43
    03. Dove il buio e' signore 5:30
    04. Tu 4:52
    05. Adagio per gli occhi di un bambino 3:14
    06. Gesu', quel giorno 4:03
    07. Presagio 0:26
    08. Uomo nasce fiore cresce appassisce muore 7:25
    09. Adagio per gli occhi di un bambino 2:53
    10. Il conto alla rovescia 2:41
    11. Era l'ora del tramonto 4:09
    12. La terra che nessuno conosce 1:50

    Massino Buzzi / drums
    Michele Jannacone / drums, percussion
    Luciano Ciccaglioni / acoustic and electric guitars
    Mario scotti / bass, Fender fretless bass
    Toto Torquati / Yamaha "Gran Concerto" piano, Hammond Organ, Wurlitzer piano, ARP 2600, Eminent, Celesta
    Gepy & Gepy / vocals
    Nicola Samele / orchestra conductor

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1060 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads