R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 30 » Trace ~ 1976 ~ The White Ladies
    Trace ~ 1976 ~ The White Ladies
    genre: sympho prog
    country: holland
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 40'06"  size: 327 mb

    1. Legend Part 1 (3:28)
    2. Interlude 1 (0:20)
    3. Confrontation (4:10)
    4. Interlude II (0:48)
    5. Dance of the White Ladies (1:33)
    6. Doubts (3:27)
    7. Trace I (0:15)
    8. Witche's Dance (2:36)
    9. Surrender (2:11)
    10. Interlude III (0:36)
    11. Parthétique (2:25)
    12. Legend Part 2 (2:19)
    13. Interlude IV (0:10)
    14. The Rescue (3:47)
    15. Trace II (0:25)
    16. Back Home (3:18)
    17. Meditation (3:58)
    18. Flash Back (0:33)
    19. Conclusion (3:34)

    - Rick Van Der Linden / keyboards
    - Cor Dekker / bass
    - Peter de Leeuwe / drums
    - Dick Remelink / saxes, flute
    - Hans Jacobse / additional keyboards
    - Hetty Smit / vocals
    - Harry Schafer / narrator

    This album is the third and last release of the Dutch band Trace. Although the band’s name is Trace, the line-up resembles Ekseption much more than Trace (with Peter de Leeuwe on drums, Cor Dekker on bass, Dick Remelink on sax, all three former members of the old Ekseption). As such, it sounds much more like an Ekseption album than a Trace album, classical themes interspersed with rock and jazz. With this album Rick deviates from the original Trace concept, which was completely keyboard dominated, and he introduces sax, strings as well as a female singer (Hetty Smit). Thus, the album sounds very different from the previous Trace albums, the music is more structured and refined, and the ‘wild’ element is restrained in favour of nuance and melody. The Dutch folklore story of the White Ladies is the source of inspiration for this album, which starts out with a narrative accompanied by strings. Most of the music is written by Rick van der Linden, but he has not forgotten to incorporate themes from Beethoven as well: in the song ‘Pathetique’ and ‘The Rescue’ Rick uses themes from Beethoven’s 8th and 3rd sonata for piano. In the tracks ‘Dance of the White Ladies’ and 'Witches’ Dance’ the ‘wild’ element steps into the spotlight, while in tracks like ‘Doubts’, ‘Surrender’ and ‘Conclusion’ the wild element leaves the spotlight to the melody. There are moments when the drums lack punch and imagination, and at these times the absence of the original Trace drummer Pierre van der Linden is felt. But, all in all, this is a very balanced album, and I found it highly enjoyable. This release of the original album on CD is (like the other two albums from Trace) done in an excellent way by the Musea team, with detailed documentation about the history of the band and its leader, Rick van der Linden.

    sharingmatrix:  p1, p2 = depositfiles: p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2251 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads