R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » April » 1 » Uriah Heep ~ 1972 ~ Demons And Wizards
    Uriah Heep ~ 1972 ~ Demons And Wizards
    Uriah Heep ~ 1972 ~ Demons And Wizards

    genre: heavy prog
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, covers) 
    time: 66:03 size: 438 mb

    Fourth album released by British rock band Uriah Heep. The album helped the band break to fame and also gave the band its face. It has become a major success worldwide by selling 3 million copies.
    The original vinyl release was a gatefold sleeve, the front of which was designed by Roger Dean and contains a hidden erotic image of male and female genitalia. The inner of the gatefold had pictures of the band and notes by Ken Hensley, whilst the LP itself was housed in a liner on which were printed the lyrics.
    The songs "The Wizard" and "Easy Livin'" were released as singles in the United Kingdom and North America, as well as many other markets. "Easy Livin'" entered the US Top 40 at No. 39, making it Heep's first and only American hit. "Easy Livin'" was also a mega hit in the Netherlands and Germany, countries which were becoming a strong market for the band.
    New Zealander Gary Thain, at the time a member of Keef Hartley Band, joined Uriah Heep as a permanent member halfway through another American tour. "Gary just had a style about him, it was incredible because every bass player in the world that I've ever known has always loved his style, with those melodic bass lines", Box commented later. Thus the 'classic' Uriah Heep was formed and, according to biographer K. Blows, "everything just clicked into place".
    Also, the addition of Lee Kerslake (a former bandmate of Hensley's in The Gods and Toe Fat) on drums solidified the rhythm section into a world class powerhouse.

    The result of this newly found chemistry was the Demons and Wizards album which in June 1972 reached No. 20 in the UK and No. 23 in the USA. While the title of it and Roger Dean's sleeve both suggested that the band was romantically working medieval myth into their songs – and surely songs like "Rainbow Demon" and "The Wizard" (co-written by Mark Clarke, during his short stay) did have thematical links with fantasy world – more straightforward, hard-rocking approach was also obvious. To discard any possible insinuations concerning any kind of concept behind it, Hensley's note on the sleeve declared the album to be "just a collection of our songs that we had a good time recording". Both critics and the band's aficionados consider the album as 'definitive' and 'crowning achievement' which (according to AllMusic) "solidified Uriah Heep's reputation as a master of gothic-inflected heavy metal", Ken Hensley has remembered.
    "The band was really focused at that time. We all wanted the same thing, were all willing to make the same sacrifices to achieve it and we were all very committed. It was the first album to feature that line-up and there was a magic in that combination of people that created so much energy and enthusiasm".
    Two singles were released from the album: "The Wizard" and "Easy Livin'", the second (a defiant rocker, according to Blows, "tailor-made for Byron's extrovert showmanship") peaking at No. 39 in Billboard Hot 100.

    1.    "The Wizard"      Mark Clarke, Ken Hensley    2:59
    2.    "Traveller in Time"      Mick Box, David Byron, Lee Kerslake    3:25
    3.    "Easy Livin'"           2:37
    4.    "Poet's Justice"      Box, Hensley, Kerslake    4:15
    5.    "Circle of Hands"           6:25
    6.    "Rainbow Demon"           4:25
    7.    "All My Life"      Box, Byron, Kerslake    2:44
    8.    "Paradise"           5:10
    9.    "The Spell"           7:32

    10.    "Why" (Extended Version)    10:34
    11.    "Rainbow Demon" (Single Edit)    3:36
    12.    "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf"      2:52
    13.    "Home Again to You" (Demo version)    5:36
    14.    "Green Eye" (Demo version)    3:46

    All songs written and composed by Ken Hensley except where noted.

    David Byron – Lead Vocals (Except "The Wizard" - David Byron & Mark Clarke Vocals; "Paradise" & "The Spell" - David Byron & Ken Hensley Vocals)
    Mick Box – Lead Guitars
    Ken Hensley – Keyboards, Guitars, Percussion, Vocals
    Lee Kerslake – Drums, Percussion, Vocals
    Gary Thain – Bass Guitar (Except "The Wizard" & "Why")
    Mark Clarke – Bass Guitar (On "The Wizard" & "Why")

    see also:

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1161 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads