R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » April » 6 » Vernons Girls ~ 1994 ~ Very Best Of
    Vernons Girls ~ 1994 ~ Very Best Of
    Vernons Girls ~ 1994 ~ Very Best Ofgenre: pop
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, no covers) 
    time: 43:38 size: 162 mb

    As a 16-piece vocal group, the Vernon Girls appeared on the ITV show Oh Boy! with the house band between 1958 and 1959, and made a series of relatively successful singles for labels Parlophone between 1958 and 1961. Their 1958 LP released on Parlophone was arranged and conducted by Peter Knight, with sleeve notes by Eamonn Andrews. This record is significantly different from their later pop hits, featuring such fifties standards as "We'll Gather Lilacs", "Lonely Ballerina", and the "Cuckoo in the Clock".
    Led by Maureen Kennedy, from 1961 the group reduced their membership to five and then three members, and by 1962 had signed to Decca Records where they recorded covers of American hits. Their cover of the Drifters' "Lover Please" and "You Know What I Mean" were both hits; the latter was also originally the B-side of "Lover Please". In the US the group charted with the first Beatles tribute album there, We Love The Beatles. As The Carefrees, they also charted with "We Love You Beatles", and made an album only available in the United States.
    As session singers for Decca, the Vernons Girls were the female backing voices on many hit singles during the 1960s – one of the first being Billy Fury's "Maybe Tomorrow". The trio of Jean Owen, Frances Lea, and Maureen Kennedy also appeared on film in the 1964 TV special Around The Beatles with the Beatles plus Long John Baldry, P. J. Proby and Millie Small, in the Billy Fury film Play It Cool, and in Just For Fun; ex-member Vicky Haseman also appeared in this, with her group, the Breakaways.
    However, by 1964, their chart successes had halted and they disbanded.

    01. Hey Lover Boy 2:24
    02. You Know What I Mean 2:17
    03. We Love The Beatles 2:04
    04. Lover Please 2:10
    05. Don't Wanna Go 2:11
    06. The Loco-Motion 2:10
    07. Dat's Love 2:12
    08. Be Nice To Him Mama 1:56
    09. Funny All Over 2:05
    10. See For Yourself 1:57
    11. Do The Bird 2:19
    12. I'm Gonna Let My Hair Down 1:50
    13. Mamma Doesn'T Know 1:38
    14. He'Ll Never Come Again 2:08
    15. Stay-At-Home 2:23
    16. Tomorrow Is Another Day 2:09
    17. Why Why Why 2:10
    18. Only You Can Do It 2:41
    19. Stupid Little Girl 2:08
    20. Just Another Girl 2:45

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1160 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads