R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » April » 11 » White Witch ~ 1972 ~ White Witch
    White Witch ~ 1972 ~ White Witch
    White Witch ~ 1972 ~ White Witchgenre: heavy glam, prog
    state: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers) 
    time: 41:41 size: 282 mb

    White Witch was a glam rock/psychedelic/hard rock band from Tampa, Florida that made two albums for Capricorn Records in the early 1970s. Their name was a paean to "white magic", contrary to the "black magic" of groups like Black Sabbath. As the band announced before their shows: "To bring good where there once was evil, to bring love where there once was hate, to bring wisdom where there once was ignorance; this is the power of White Witch".
    The band originally featured lead singer Ronald "Ronn" (or "Ron") Goedert, guitarist Charles "Buddy" Richardson, keyboardist Hardin "Buddy" Pendergrass, drummer Robert "Bobby" Shea and bassist Loyall "Beau" Fisher. Several of the band members had belonged to a popular late-60s Tampa-area band called The Tropics.
    Fisher left the group sometime after the first album and was replaced by Rabbi Barbee, who left before the group went back in into the studio in 1974. Bassist Charlie Souza and drummer Bill Peterson also joined the band before the second album.
    Due to displeasure with their record label's lack of promotion and its interference in the band's recording sessions, Buddy Richardson left the group immediately after the second album (A Spiritual Greeting) was completed. He was replaced by guitarist George Brawley, who had spent the previous year as a session guitarist in Los Angeles after leaving the southern rock group Brother from Columbia, SC. Drummer Bobby Shea stayed with the group as percussionist and back-up singer.
    White Witch did a bit more touring and recorded four tracks on demo, but broke up in the late 1970s before a third album was recorded. After White Witch, Goedert made some solo recordings, Pendergrass wrote commercial jingles and opened a recording studio, and Richardson played in other bands ("Revolver").
    Some of the original group members began planning a reunion in the late 1990s which became impossible when lead singer Ron Goedert died of cancer on July 16, 2000. Pendergrass also became a victim of cancer on March 16, 2003.
    Though primarily known as a glam band, White Witch's music cannot be easily classified into a single genre. Songs on each album ranged from Progressive rock and psychedelic to hard rock to honky tonk to southern boogie to rock-pop. The common threads through their work were lyrics with a new age/spiritual theme and the use of an early moog synthesizer.

    White Witch lead singer released Ron Goedert "Breaking All The Rules' in 1980 on Polydor records and Frank Fenter record company, featuring Riff West on bass, Jack West on drums and Jerry Runyan on guitar.
    The group disbanding in late 1980. Intended to be the 3rd White Witch LP, Polydor execs would not allow the use of the name owned by Capricorn so the record was released under Rons name.

    01. Parabrahm Greeting / Dwellers Of The Threshold 3:07
    02. Help Me Lord 3:09
    03. Don't Close Your Mind 6:47
    04. You'r The One 3:05
    05. Sleepwalk 4:30
    06. Home Grown Girl 3:07
    07. And I'm Leaving 3:03
    08. Illusion 5:13
    09. It's So Nice To Be Stoned 3:57
    10. Have You Ever Thought Of Changing / Jackson Slade 3:57
    11. The Gift 1:46

    Buddy Richardson / guitars
    Robert Shea / drums
    Ron Goedert / vocals
    Hardin Pendergrass / keyboards
    Loyall Fischer / bass

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1379 | Rating: 4.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads