R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog


Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика musicaggregatorlogo Web Directory Subscribe

    Main » 2010 » September » 16

    Capability Brown ~ 1973 ~ Voice
    genre: heavy, prog
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans) & mp3 (320k, scans)
    time: 38'48"  size: 284 or 81 mb

    Tapestry of Delights:

    This band's staple diet was mainstream rock with some arty pop leanings. Their From Scratch album had a couple of tracks with more progressive leanings:- Rayge and Sole Survivor. This latter song was about the escape from the coming war with a time machine and culminated in some fine guitar work imitating time machine travel! There are reasonable stabs at Rare Bird's Beautiful Scarlet and Russ Bolland's Liar. They also covered another Rare Bird song Redman, which dealt with the fate of the American Indian. The Liar album is a compilation of their recordings from 1972 and 1973.

    Kenny Rowe had earlier been in The Moments and both he and Tony Ferguson had been in Harmony Grass. Joe Williams and Dave Nevin may also have been later members of Harmony Grass, whilst Roger Willis had played with The Gremlins. Willis, White and Ferguson went on to Krazy Kat in 1976.

    (Vernon Joynson/Costas Arvantis/Jim McMaster)

    Views: 2729 | Date: 16.09.2010 | Rating: 4.3 | Comments (0)

    the Byrds ~ 1973 ~ The Byrds
    genre: folk
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans) & mp3 (320k, scans)
    time: 34'55"  size: 225 or 106 mb
    misc.: 2004 aka Reunion Album

    Side 1
    "Full Circle" (Gene Clark) – 2:43
    "Sweet Mary" (Roger McGuinn, Jacques Levy) – 2:55
    "Changing Heart" (Gene Clark) – 2:42
    "For Free" (Joni Mitchell) – 3:50
    "Born to Rock 'n' Roll" (Roger McGuinn) – 3:12

    Side 2
    "Things Will Be Better" (Chris Hillman, Dallas Taylor) – 2:13
    "Cowgirl in the Sand" (Neil Young) – 3:24
    "Long Live the King" (David Crosby) – 2:17
    "Borrowing Time" (Chris Hillman, Joe Lala) – 2:00
    "Laughing" (David Crosby) – 5:38
    "(See the Sky) About to Rain" (Neil Young) – 3:49

    Roger McGuinn: vocals, 6- and 12-string electric & acoustic guitars, Moog, banjo
    Chris Hillman: vocals, 6- and 12-string electric & acoustic guitars, mandolin, bass
    Gene Clark: vocals, 6-string acoustic, harmonica, tambourine
    Michael Clarke: drums, congas, percussion
    David Crosby: vocals, 6- and 12-string electric & acoustic guitars

    Additional Personnel:
    Wilton Felder - electric bass on "Cowgirl in the Sand"
    Johnny Barbata - drums on "Cowgirl in the Sand"
    Dallas Taylor - congas, tambourine


    Views: 3234 | Date: 16.09.2010 | Rating: 0.0 | Comments (0)

    the Edgar Broughton Band ~ 1975 ~ Bandages
    genre: heavy psych
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans) & mp3 (320k, scans)
    time: 47'42"  size: 327 or 118 mb

    01. "Get A Rise" 5:02
    02. "Speak Down The Wires" 3:14
    03. "John Wayne" 3:11
    04. "The Whale" 5:35
    05. "Germany" 4:36
    06. "Love Gang" 3:01
    07. "One To Seven" 5:58
    08. "Lady Life" 3:07
    09. "Signal Injector" 4:04
    10. "Fruhling Flowers (For Claudia)" 5:14
    11. "I Want To Lie" 4:41

    Edgar Broughton - Lead vocals, guitar, bass, banjo, harmonica, acoustic guitars, mandolin, moog
    Arthur Grant - Vocals, bass, acoustic guitars, organ, bowed bass guitar, bass moog
    Steve Broughton - Vocals, drums, piano, tambourine, bass, acoustic guitar, harpsichord, bells, maracas, timbales, jawbone, marimba
    John Thomas - Vocals guitar

    Guest personnel:
    Lei Aloah Mei - backing vocals
    Pete Knudsen - keyboards
    Mike Oldfield - dulcimer, harp, arp, steel guitar
    Digger Davis - Rhythm guitar


    Views: 3253 | Date: 16.09.2010 | Rating: 5.0 | Comments (2)

    the Gremlins ~ 2004 ~ The Coming Generation. The Complete Recordings 1965-68
    genre: beat
    country: new zealand
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 46'08"  size: 231 mb
    Dreams Fantasies & Nightmares:
    This Auckland group evolved in 1965 out of a band called The Adventurers. The change came when Glyn Conway left The Embers, one of Auckland's top early sixties groups to join The Adventurers.
    The Gremlins debut 45 sold poorly, but after a switch to Gary Daverne's Viscount label they enjoyed a big hit with The Coming Generation. Paddy McAneney left soon after, bassist Ces Good joined and Ben Grubb switched to organ. You Gotta Believe It gave them another Top 20 hit, but after this Peter Davies departed. He was replaced by Daron Curtiss, previously with Gisborne's Crying Shame, an obscure heavy rock trio.
    An underrated group The Gremlins were responsible for a series of competent power pop singles they mostly penned themselves. Two of these, Glyn Conway's Never You Mind and Ces Good's Listen To Me can also be heard on Wild Things, Vol. 2, Blast Off 1970, a great pop-psych 'A' side from 1967, which featured some catchy organ moments, guitar and sound effects, has resurfaced on the No. 8 Live Wire compilation.
    They broke up in 1968. Conway was later in a pub rock band called Copperfield.
    Views: 2501 | Date: 16.09.2010 | Rating: 5.0 | Comments (3)

    Gravy Train ~ 1970 ~ (A Ballad Of) A Peaceful Man
    genre: heavy psych
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 39'06"  size: 247 mb
    misc.: 1990

    01. "Alone In Georgia" 4:33
    02. "(A Ballad Of)A Peaceful Man" 7:09
    03. "Jule's Delight" 6:59
    04. "Messenger" 5:59
    05. "Can You Anybody Hear Me" 3:00
    06. "Old Tin Box" 4:47
    07. "Won't Tald About It" 3:08
    08. "Home Again" 3:31

    Norman Barrett / lead guitar & lead vocals
    Barry Davenport / drums & percussion
    J.D Hugues / flute, keyboards, saxophone, vocals
    Les Williams / bass & backing vocals

    Views: 2281 | Date: 16.09.2010 | Rating: 4.5 | Comments (0)

    Action: 10% disc1ount coupon14 for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: j16v917255n7tjh9af6odzgk7cjgwgg2

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads