R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » November » 11 » Bob Downes Open Music ~ 1970 ~ Electric City
    Bob Downes Open Music ~ 1970 ~ Electric City
    Bob Downes Open Music ~ 1970 ~ Electric City
    genre: jazz, fusion
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 40'06" size: 310 mb
    misc.: japan
    Tapestry of Delights:
    This progressive/avant-garde jazz artist has been assisted by a wide variety of artists on his releases. Only Open Music has really attracted much interest from collectors to date. Ophenian is his own record label. He also went on to compose music for the ballet 'Rambert'. He was one of the country's top flautists but moved to live on the continent in the late eighties.
    The Deep Down Heavy album is interesting, it being an amalgam of Bob Downes' music and Robert Cockburn's poetry. They collaborated on most tracks but also had their own moments; Cockburn, for example, reading extracts from his poetry. One memorable track, entitled Poplar Cheam, includes references to more than 40 underground stations with lyrics like:-
    She highgate in her wanstead
    And wapping in her bow
    And shadwell in her hackney hayes
    Makes aldwych greenwich go!
    (from Poplar Cheam)

    An underrated album for sure and something of a surprise on the Music For Pleasure label. ~ (VJ/MWh).

    01. "No Time Like The Present" 3:05
    02. "Keep Off The Grass" 2:46
    03. "Don't Let Tomorrow Get You Down" 2:56
    04. "Dawn Until Dawn" 4:29
    05. "Go Find Time" 2:40
    06. "Walking On" 5:01
    07. "Crush Hour" 3:21
    08. "West II" 3:28
    09. "In Your Eyes" 2:21
    10. "Piccadilly Circles" 2:52
    11. "Gonna Take A Journey" 7:08
    Bob Downes - vocals, sax, flute, production
    Chris Spedding - guitars
    Herbie Flowers - bass
    Harry Miller - bass
    Alan Rushton - drums
    Clem Cattini - drums
    Kenny Wheeler - trumpet
    Ian Carr - trumpet, flugelhorn
    Bud Parks - trumpet, flugelhorn
    Harold Beckett - trumpet, flugelhorn
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3334 | Rating: 4.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 4
    4 adamus67   (16.01.2011 23:00) [Материал]
    avatarI've read about them,not as good as I've read but simply nice (for me)..that's all

    3 Shaking Street   (21.11.2010 14:11) [Материал]
    Spedding has got to be THE under-rated UK guitarist. He played on a TON of great stuff, from jazz, rock to pop (I must listen to the Wombles again!)

    2 pEIS   (12.11.2010 13:03) [Материал]
    Thank you for this!I'm very curious for this. Interesting line-up!

    1 psychonaut   (11.11.2010 16:16) [Материал]
    Interesting! Thank you very much!!

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads