R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Bonniwell Music Machine -1967 - Beyond the garage
    Bonniwell Music Machine -1967 - Beyond the garage
    Style: psych
    Country: us
    Audio: lossless (flac, cue, log,  scans)
    Size: 258 mb 
    Issue: 1995 Sundazed Music Inc
    from Fuzz Acid & Flowers :
    Centred around Bonniwell, who had earlier sung with sixties folk group The Wayfarers, this Los Angeles band developed out of a trio called the Ragamuffins, which had featured Bonniwell, Edgar and Olsen. Edgar had earlier drummed for The Goldebriars with Curt Boettcher, whilst Olsen who was an old friend of Boettcher, had played with Gale Garnett and Jimmie Rodgers, and also briefly with the Wayfarers, at whose club in Charleston the Goldebriars often played. He later married Goldbriar Sheri Holmberg. Bonniwell disillusioned with straight folk, became the Goldebriars tour manager, and migrated to LA with them. Olsen meanwhile had run into another old friend, Doug Rhodes and Bonniwell grabbed them for his new band, The Music Machine, adopting The Goldebriars all-in-black, dyed black Beatlecut look in the process, lock, stock, and barrel. The Music Machine's debut album contained the U.S. hit Talk Talk and a number of other strong original compositions, notably Masculine Intuition, Wrong and Trouble. Bonniwell's harsh voice was ideal for much of this material and for a while the group achieved some success. Their debut album also featured competent versions of Hey Joe, ? and The Mysterians' 96 Tears, the Beatles' Taxman and Neil Diamond's Cherry Cherry. The People In Me/Masculine Intuition 45 was also taken from their debut album and Hey Joe was subsequently issued as a 45. However, not everything was presumably going smoothly and the second album was issued after the band had split. Recorded in Muscle Shoals, Alabama and New Mexico it comprised three outtakes from the earlier album and some new material. The band also made some other recordings, acetates of which have recently surfaced with the following tracks: Side One Everything Is Everything/You'll Love Me Again/This Should Make You Happy/Black Snow/Mother Nature, Father Earth/Dark White; Side Two No Girl Gonna Cry/King Mixer/Advise And Consent/Tell Me What Ya Got/Citizen Fear/Point Of No Return. After the split Edgar, Rhodes and Olsen all reunited again with Boettcher in Millenium and appeared on the first Sagittarius album. Keith Olsen later became a studio engineer and producer Bonniwell went on to record a solo album Close, a moody, rather introverted effort. After that he dropped out and got religious, resurfacing in the 1980s fronting Heaven Sent, a Christian band. In 1982 he re-recorded Talk Talk. In 1984, Rhino issued a Best Of compilation, which comprised many of their best known cuts and some unissued masters. One interesting and rare spin off from the band was Nothin's Too Good For My Car/So Long Ago (OS95) which Bonniwell recorded with Paul Buff under the name Friendly Torpedos shortly before leaving Original Sound. It was released in 1968. Warner Bros 7188 also from 1968 was withdrawn soon after being issued and is now highly sought-after. The 'A' side appears on Acid Dreams and The Acid Dreams Testament (CD). Hopefully many more corpses from the moody men in black are still to be exhumed. ~ Vernon Joynson / Max Waller / Joe Foster/Stephane Rebeschini)
    01. Bottom of the Soul 2:01
    02. Absolutely Positively 2:15
    03. Soul Love 3:35
    04. Somethin Hurtin on Me 3:05
    05. Affirmative No 2:07
    06. The Trap 2:34
    07. The Eagle Never Hurts The Fly 2:47
    08. No Girl Gonna Cry 2:19
    09. Me, Myself, and I 2:06
    10. To the Light 2:14
    11. Tin Can Beach 1:46
    12. Time out (For a Daydream) 2:01
    13. Astrologically Incompatible 2:39
    14. Discrepancy 2:35
    15. Talk me Down 1:53
    16. I've Loved You 2:49
    17. You'll Love me Again 1:54
    18. In my Neighborhood 2:25
    19. Double Yellow Line 2:10
    20. The Day Today 2:50
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2619 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads